The TR Podcast 114: Gigahertz graphics and high-def tablets

The Tech Report Podcast Date: July 1, 2012

Time: 1:23:01

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, and Cyril Kowaliski

Download:
MP3 (59.9MB) | M4A (81.8MB)

Subscribe:
RSS (MP3) | RSS (M4A)
iTunes (MP3) | iTunes (M4A)

Listen now:

Show notes

We kick off this pre-holiday podcast with a couple of GPU reviews. Scott joins us to discuss AMD’s new Radeon HD 7970 GHz edition—before returning to his family, which includes the newborn Wasson progeny, William Thomas Wasson. Cyril chimes in with his take on Nvidia’s GeForce GT 640.

Moving on, we discuss tablet announcements from Microsoft and Google, and we talk about Geoff’s experience with the Asus Transformer Pad Infinity, which he compared with the new iPad from Apple. Last, but not least, Geoff gives us the scoop on recent trends in solid-state and mechanical storage pricing.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Follow us on Twitter – ScottJordanGeoffCyrilThe Tech Report

Tech discussion:

    Say hello to the new Wasson – (0:00:49) – Read more

    AMD’s Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition – (0:02:29) – Read more

    Nvidia’s GeForce GT 640 graphics card – (0:22:00) – Read more

    Microsoft unveils ARM-, Intel-powered tablets – (0:35:09) – Read more

    Google’s $199 tablet is official; you can pre-order one now – (0:45:09) – Read more

    Asus’ Transformer Pad Infinity tablet – (0:52:22) – Read more

    SSD prices in steady, substantial decline – (1:12:12) – Read more

    The post-flood decline of hard drive prices is slowing – (1:14:58) – Read more

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on the next episode.

Comments closed
    • dashbarron
    • 7 years ago

    Good listen: I was hoping to you’d talk about the Infinity.

    • d0g_p00p
    • 7 years ago

    Good god………thank you Geoff on addressing the pricing stuff with regards to SSD’s. I bitch and moan about how cheap the TR readers are. Your comment about SSD prices and spare change was welcomed.

    It’s funny that a high end enthusiast site like TR still have people that want a 256GB SSd for $39.95, a 4Ghz CPU for $19.00 and forget about having a PSU that is above 500w because that whole extra $5.89 a year is too much.

    My point is I am glad that you said something about the cheap asses on TR. it really amazes me on how cheap people are on this site. Out off all the hardware sites I read, people on TR are the only ones who want the best of the best for the lowest price.

    That said I lied. The only hardware review site I read is here. My moaning aside. Keep up the good work.

    P.S. You guys should start reviewing ASRock stuff if you can. Cheap (for the readers) and very high quality.

    And congratulations Scott. How big of a posse are you trying to have?

    • travbrad
    • 7 years ago

    Congrats Scott. 🙂

    • ludi
    • 7 years ago

    I think the analysis on the hard drive market fell a bit short. You noted that prices are not falling as fast on low capacity models and that new models are not being introduced across the board, but I think leaves room for more analysis. First, manufacturing capacity is probably still constrained, so resources are being focused primarily on getting 500GB and 1TB models back into full production, as these seem to be the most popular with the big-volume vendors such as Dell.

    Second, the hard drive market was probably glutted prior to the floods. How many different variations of a 1TB, 7200RPM, 32MB cache drive can a healthy market really support? Given that spindle speeds have peaked and aural densities appear to be on the right-hand side of the S-curve, what is the point of introducing a new model that does pretty much the same thing as the old model, underneath yet another Otter Pop color-of-the-month label scheme? It’s entirely possible that Seagate and WD won’t even rebuild out to the same capacity level the industry had before the flood because they simply can’t sell that many drives.

    In other words, it’s looking the mechanical HDD industry will consolidate down to a small handful of high-performance enterprise drives and a small range of consumer-grade solutions for desktops and light business machines, while SSDs rapidly take over the enthusiast desktop market and the mainstream notebook market.

      • axeman
      • 7 years ago

      Seagate has already figured this out.

      [url<]http://www.seagate.com/internal-hard-drives/desktop-hard-drives/barracuda/[/url<] There is precisely one model of desktop hard drive that they offer now. WD has to figure this out, and they probably will. Mechanical hard disks are such a commodity item people are going to stop caring about a bunch of different models with relatively minor performance differences. The WD Black is too expensive, the Green is a slow POS. Even though I have a Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 that I loathe (because it's failed 3 times now), I'm all for what they're doing now, one basic spec 7200 rpm drive for a decent price. I hope the two Seagate 2TB drives i just installed in my file server are reliable, because the 7200.11 was a turd.

    • Arclight
    • 7 years ago

    What can i say, the HD 7970 GHZ is pretty awesome but the nvidia distorsion field won’t allow buyers to purchase it.

    Regarding GT 640…..what a dud.

    PS: been a while since the review, any custom cooled variants been sent to you guys yet? talkin bout the 7970 GHZ ofc…

    • DancinJack
    • 7 years ago

    I enjoyed the talk about the Nexus 7. It is fairly enticing to me as well.

    Congratulations Scott!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This