The TR Podcast 119: GTX 660, Haswell, Sleeping Dogs and iPhone 5

The Tech Report Podcast Date: September 16, 2012

Time: 1:35:48

Hosted by Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Cyril Kowaliski, and Geoff Gasior

Download:
MP3 (69.1MB) | M4A (94MB)

Subscribe:
RSS (MP3) | RSS (M4A)
iTunes (MP3) | iTunes (M4A)

Listen now:

Sponsored by Because you are serious about gaming. Because AMD is serious about graphics. And because they, like you, never settle for less than the best. Get Radeon™ in your system today with the AMD Radeon™ HD 7900 Series Graphics, the world’s most advanced and versatile GPUs.

 

Show notes

It’s another mega episode of the TR Podcast this week—hence our straightforward, what-you-see-is-what-you-get title. We kick things off with Scott’s recap of the Intel Developer Forum, including a look at Haswell and exciting Intel R&D. Then it’s on to the latest from AMD, which set up camp just down the road. Geoff, Cyril, and Jordan follow up by discussing the iPhone 5. Kicking off a series of reviews, Scott tells the familiar tale of Nvidia’s latest GPU, the GeForce GTX 660, while Geoff shares his thoughts on the violent and addictive Sleeping Dogs. Cyril rounds out the episode with a look at Asus’ IPS-infused Zenbook Prime notebook.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Follow us on Twitter – ScottJordanGeoffCyrilThe Tech Report

Listener mail:

Testing 120hz? – from Hector – (0:01:27):

“Ever given thought to doing 120Hz GPU/CPU testing to see what hardware is required to stay above 120Hz 95 percent of the time, etc. I like your testing methodology a lot, but you guys seem to be running into games that basically are always above 60fps. Now that I use a 120Hz monitor on a daily basis, the frame drop into sub 120hz is noticeable as stutter the same way people notice going sub 60hz and it gets laggy or stuttering. For most game it isn’t an issue, but in fast paced FPS, even older ones like TF2, I find my 6950 doesn’t keep up at 120Hz, even with the settings turned down somewhat. I find locking it to a lower framerate that’s consistent is preferable.”

Tech discussion:

    Scott recaps Haswell and advanced R&D from Intel at IDF (0:10:38)

    Scott’s meeting with AMD at the AMD bunker during IDF (0:41:41)

    Apple introduces the iPhone 5 (0:47:54)- Read more

    Nvidia’s GeForce GTX 660 graphics card (1:01:07)- Read more

    Sleeping Dogs will keep you up at night (1:17:55)- Read more

    Cyril reviews the Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A (1:24:59)

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on the next episode.

Comments closed
    • sweatshopking
    • 7 years ago

    YOU KNOW SCOTT, YOU COULD Always hire me back…

    • madgun
    • 7 years ago

    Really enjoyed the discussion about Intel’s “haswell” chip. Too bad Intel hasn’t started marketing it widely but in either case, waiting for it.

    • dashbarron
    • 7 years ago

    iPhone is a Toyota…love it. But seriously, I wonder how innovation is going to improve over the course of five years with fast hardware already ubiquitious across most systems. It seems its just improvement of the arch platform, better NFC and wireless payment systems…and…batteries (Technology for batteries needs to make radical change)?

    Good piece. Thanks guys.

    • ZGradt
    • 7 years ago

    Scott’s 660 comments drive me nuts. I just finished a new build, and I’ve been making due with the integrated graphics waiting for the new hotness to come to market before I made a decision. I’ve been agonizing over this for weeks, and he makes a joke out of it!

    At first, I was trying to justify a 670 purchase. Sure, it’s gimped quite a bit from the 680, but the 680 is kind of overkill in the first place, so getting a $100 discount is not bad. Still, $400 is a good chunk of change. More than I paid for the motherboard and processor!

    Then the 660 Ti came along. From what I gather, it’s more like a 670 SE. Basically the same thing, with a 25% narrower memory path. Probably only makes a difference at really stupid high resolutions. 1 of the 8 “SMX units” is disabled, so 16% there. And another $100 discount. Sweet! $300 is still pricey though. I like to spend around $200, but I broke my rule with the $250 Radeon 5850 on my last upgrade…

    Now the 660. On paper, it sounds pretty bad. It’s not even the same chip as the others. The took the hatchet to a whole bunch of processing units, lowering performance across the board. The Asus TOP hangs with the stock Ti, but it also costs a bit more for the added oomph. The factory overclocking going on makes things difficult to sort out. Stock 660 to stock 660 Ti doesn’t look too bad. And a $70 discount.

    So what did I decide? Well, I should be receiving my Zotac 660 Ti AMP! in the mail today 😉 For some reason, it’s selling at Newegg for the same price as the stock clocked 660 Ti’s. The hopped up memory speed and processor clock should ease my conscience over not splurging on the 670.

    That said, I think the best deal right now is a Radeon 7950 at $230, and try flashing the boosted BIOS, but I’m interesting in trying out some CUDA applications and Nvidia’s cheaty filtering.

    • codedivine
    • 7 years ago

    Scott, any idea how Haswell graphics will compare to Trinity and maybe Kaveri graphics for similar power-envelopes? Also, was there any talk of the “packaged memory” on Haswell for the GPU (rumor originating from Semiaccurate i believe)?

      • chuckula
      • 7 years ago

      My guess (probably not as good as Scott’s):

      1. Assuming GT3 graphics, Haswell is definitely ahead of Trinity. Bearing in mind that desktop Haswell is apparently not going to get GT3 graphics, desktop Trinity still wins at GPU (although it gets whomped at CPU as we already know).

      2. Assuming GT3 graphics, Haswell at 15 watts and now 10 watts still beats Kaveri if Kaveri is made available in those equivalent power envelopes, but Kaveri is probably at least even or somewhat ahead in the ~25 watt – 35 watt range. As the power scales up, Kaveri takes a strong GPU lead, especially if there is no desktop GT3 graphics. Once again, while Kaveri has much more theoretical graphics oomph, there is the need to provide power for all that oomph. Additionally, while Kaveri is a step up in CPU, it won’t beat Haswell on the CPU side.

    • cynan
    • 7 years ago

    [i<]while Geoff shares his thoughts on the violent and [b<]addicting[/b<] Sleeping Dogs[/i<] Grammar poll anyone? Who thinks that it should be "addictive"? I know at first this just sounds like one of those anal retentive grammar nazi posts, but I'm genuinely interested and not trying to belittle the author. I think it it should be "addictive", but only because, in my own vernacular, I consider "addictive" to be the original, and in this usage, "addicting" seems a completely redundant morphology of the participle adjective of "addiction". "Addicting sounds like a verb, and I don't think that was the intended usage here. Or am I missing some nuance in meaning between "addictive" and "addicting"?

      • jdrake
      • 7 years ago

      I think it can go either way. Either the game is addicting, as in it is actively drawing in the player to the point of addiction – or it is addictive, because it actively draws in the player to the point of addiction.

        • cynan
        • 7 years ago

        Interesting. I don’t see the difference between the two. Hence the redundancy. I’m having trouble thinking of examples of other root words with multiple, subtly different adjectives. I guess I’m inclined to think that addicting is rarely if ever correct and should only be used as a progressive verb (if there are indeed cases where that makes sense – something like “Those drugs were addicting me against my will” ).

        [i<]Edit:[/i<]I speculate it is the progressive verb of addiction being so rarely (if ever correctly) used that is the source of confusion that "addicting" is an adjective form. The fact that both progressive verbs and adjectives can both end in "ing" doesn't help. (the annoying example). English is a ridiculous language that way. Lets try another example with annoyance (unfortunately, the progressive verb and adjective form are both "annoying", but nevertheless): "Why did I bother responding to that annoying grammar post". The post is annoying, actively annoying the reader to the point of extreme annoyance - or it is annoying, because it is actively annoys the reader to the point of extreme annoyance. Annoyance doesn't need two adjectives, why should addiction? 🙂

          • jdrake
          • 7 years ago

          I’ve opened a door here that I regret… 😉

            • Damage
            • 7 years ago

            Haha. As an editor, I’d change it to “addictive” and scold the writer. If I had done the editing….

            • jdrake
            • 7 years ago

            Well that settles that. Leave the hard questions to the guy who went to Harvard.

            • cynan
            • 7 years ago

            And I can’t help but feeling at least a bit like the anal retentive ass after all. ;-P

            If “addicting” really is absolutely incorrect as an adjective, we can take solace that many others seem to share the confusion (at least according to a quick Google search of “addictive vs addicting”) which was why I posted. Even the explanation by [url=http://grammar.quickanddirtytips.com/addictive-versus-addicting.aspx<]Grammar Girl[/url<] seems to be a bit lacking insofar as its indecisiveness as to which is correct and why. Then there are the online dictionaries (from reputable sources such as Oxford no less) that seem to be relaxing their inclusion criteria more and more (or at least their inclusion of words and usages that are of "common usage" if not exactly correct). English is complicated enough as it is without a constantly changing vocabulary. More and more, I'm glad I'm not an English teacher. Thanks for the great podcast (not to mention all the others of course), BTW 🙂

    • chuckula
    • 7 years ago

    Haven’t had time to listen yet, but did you get a chance to see the Ratner keynote about the new wireless integration technology? I know that Haswell is probably more exciting for most TR readers, but the wireless stuff could turn out to be much bigger in the long run especially in mobile devices.

      • jdrake
      • 7 years ago

      Yup – Scott and I dive into the wireless speech in detail. He was at the R&D keynote. That part starts at around 30 minutes in I think.

        • chuckula
        • 7 years ago

        Thanks! I’ll give it a listen later today.

    • flip-mode
    • 7 years ago

    Funny how podcast sponsored by AMD Radeon is probably going to have a lot of good things to say about GTX 660.

      • Silus
      • 7 years ago

      Not as funny as some people going up in arms over a NVIDIA sponsored podcast, yet no complaints in an AMD sponsored one:

      [url<]https://techreport.com/discussion/21920/the-tr-podcast-99-new-pc-builds-for-a-new-battlefield#metal[/url<]

        • jdrake
        • 7 years ago

        Ha – odd, isn’t it?

          • sweatshopking
          • 7 years ago

          WHAT DID YOU SAY???? POST DELETED??!?!?

      • jdrake
      • 7 years ago
    • Thorburn
    • 7 years ago

    Presumably the 19W AMD Quad-core will really be a dual-core Bulldozer.

    • RtFusion
    • 7 years ago

    Thanks for another podcast, guys!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This