The TR Podcast 135: All’s well that’s Haswell

The Tech Report Podcast

Date: June 9, 2013
Duration: 1:13:50

Hosted by: Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts:Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, and Cyril Kowaliski

Download:
MP3 (53.1MB) | M4A (72.5MB)

Subscribe:
RSS (MP3) | RSS (M4A)
iTunes (MP3) | iTunes (M4A)

Show notes

This episode is quality over quantity. After discussing new Titan-style Nvidia GPUs, we dive right into Scott’s massive benchmarking opus of Intel’s new Haswell processors. And… that’s the majority of our episode. We wrap things up with a look at Geoff’s Haswell overclocking experiments, and a podcast bumper “audition” from Scott’s talented progeny. (Be sure to provide bumper feedback in the comments!)

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Follow us on Twitter – ScottJordanGeoffCyrilThe Tech Report

Tech discussion:

  • GeForce GTX 770 serves up GK104 in Titan-style package for $399 – (0:02:41) – Read more

    Intel’s Core i7-4770K and 4950HQ ‘Haswell’ processors reviewed – (0:08:56) – Read more

    Haswell overclocked: the Core i7-4770K at 4.7GHz – (0:55:20) – Read more

    Damage’s offspring audition new bumper tracks – (1:09:34)

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on the next episode.

Comments closed
    • MarkG509
    • 7 years ago

    My vote: Miss Jr. Damage does the front bumper, and Jr. Damage does the back-bumper…everyone’s happy.

    • Firestarter
    • 7 years ago

    I don’t usually listen to the TR podcast but I really enjoyed this one

    • redwood36
    • 7 years ago

    Great podcast!
    Both contributions are great but I’m sorry Junior Damage, I think Miss Junior Damage won my vote. It was rather close though!

      • Peldor
      • 7 years ago

      Definitely Lil Miss Damage.

      • ssidbroadcast
      • 7 years ago

      Lil miss Junior made me lol. Reminded me of something off the soundtrack to an Atari Jaguar game. Your kids playing around with Acid Loops or something? Soundforge?

      • Gyromancer
      • 7 years ago

      Lol, I never new it was a competition. I didn’t find out that my sister was making music for it until a few days after I had already made mine. In my humble opinion my sister’s music is to hardcore and glitchy to be bumper music, but that’s just my opinion. I went for what my Dad asked for and I think it is more fitting for bumper music. I’m Junior Damage btw.

    • BoBzeBuilder
    • 7 years ago

    Hasbeen.

      • chuckula
      • 7 years ago

      Please put a nickel in the jar for using my copyrighted term for making fun of Haswell.

    • Wesker
    • 7 years ago

    I never miss an episode. I think I have listened to them all. Jordan really is a great host.

    About halfway through this episode so far, really enjoying it. Would love to have it back on a weekly schedule but I understand why it was changed to bi-weekly.

    Keep up the good work you guys.

    • DeadOfKnight
    • 7 years ago

    I am looking to upgrade to Haswell, but I am very much interested in knowing if if the +4 multiplier is possible with this generation as that would be plenty for me with the heat these things produce. I mean, I could get lucky with a chip that does 4.6GHz at 1.2v, but if I get a chip of lower quality then I don’t see myself going much more than 400MHz above stock anyway.

      • grinnys
      • 7 years ago

      not entirely sure, according to hardware.fr, the +4bins is not fully implemented in the non-k series. will be sad if they’re correct.

      [url<]http://www.hardware.fr/articles/897-6/overclocking-plus-libre-k-plus-strict-par-ailleurs.html[/url<]

        • DeadOfKnight
        • 7 years ago

        Well that sucks. Guess I’m getting a “K” then. BTW, thanks for answering my question twice. 😉

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 7 years ago

    Hey Jordan,

    So I’ve recently renewed my techreport podcast vows and started re-listening. I’d been absent for about a year. You know what I learned while listening to the last episode? Your “Enhanced Feed” features are freaking awesome, and you’re the ONLY podcast that I listen to that bothers to put in that extra effort. Everyone else basically just has a dumb-ol’ mp3 feed. In case if you’re wondering if it’s worth the effort, I say it is. Super cool feature.

      • jdrake
      • 7 years ago

      Thanks – I always feel it’s worth the extra effort:-) Glad to have you back.

    • Jakubgt
    • 7 years ago

    I absolutely love these podcasts. I work a very stressful job as a nurse and these podcasts decompress me on my way home. It gets my mind off certain things and make my commute much more enjoyable.

      • jdrake
      • 7 years ago

      Glad you like them!

    • codedivine
    • 7 years ago

    Dude I think you meant to post this in “articles” and not “news”?

      • jdrake
      • 7 years ago

      Fixed. Thanks!

        • BoilerGamer
        • 7 years ago

        Hey Jordan, The Techreport thumbnail picture is not showing on Pocket Casts or Beyond Pod(All I get is a yellow box saying ” The Tech Report Podcast-Enhanced Feed”, could you look into this problem?

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This