Corsair’s Obsidian Series 750D case reviewed

We’re big fans of Corsair’s Obsidian Series 650D. The case has earned choice spots in many of our system guides, and we’ve used it for a number of other projects, including our build guide and the personal PC build of our own Geoff Gasior.

Our affection for the 650D isn’t misplaced. The case is roomy, elegant, very comfortable to work in, and packed with nice little extras. It’s got a top-mounted drive dock, a built-in fan controller, and latched side panels that slide in vertically and click into place without so much as a thumb screw. There’s hardly anything about the 650D that we don’t like.

Except, that is, for its price. At $189.99 before a $20 mail-in rebate at Newegg, the 650D lies out of the reach of many budget-conscious builders. The steep asking price was the main reason I ended my review of the 650D on a lukewarm note back in May 2011. There may be much pricier cases on the market, but there are also far more affordable ones.

Now, over two years later, Corsair has introduced what it calls a successor to the 650D. Dubbed the Obsidian Series 750D, the new enclosure is bigger and roomier than its predecessor, yet it’s also more affordable, with a suggested retail price of only $159.99. What has Corsair improved, and what has it taken away in order to hit the lower price point?

Let’s find out.

Hmm. Interesting. The 750D looks familiar, but not in the way you’d expect.

At first glance, this enclosure seems like less of a re-styled 650D and more of king-sized version of the microATX Obsidian Series 350D, which we reviewed last month. The 750D has the same kind of bezel design as the 350D. The front ventilation is hidden behind a solid, removable panel, and the front-panel ports are fully exposed rather than hidden behind a door. Other design peculiarities, like the centered power button and the 5/8″ gap lining the front panel, are the same on both enclosures. It’s a newer, cleaner look, and I quite like it. The huge side window doesn’t hurt, either.

 

Sadly, the 750D mirrors its microATX sibling in other ways, such as its omission of several upscale features from the 650D. Instead of latches, the 750D’s side panels are held in place by old-fashioned thumb screws. The top-mounted drive dock is gone—now, external storage can only be connected via the front-panel USB ports. And if we look around the back, we see that the holes for liquid-cooling pipes have to be punched in by the user. They’re no longer lined with rubber grommets, either.

Comparing the 650D’s spec sheet to that of the new 750D reveals other notable differences between the two products:

  Corsair Obsidian Series 750D
Dimensions (H x W x D) 22.1″ x 9.3″ x 21.5″
Supported motherboards microATX, ATX, EATX, XL-ATX
3.5″ drive bays 6
2.5″ drive bays 4
5.25″ drive bays 3
Fan mounts 8
Included Fans 2x 140-mm front intake

1x 140-mm rear exhaust

Front panel I/O 2x USB 3.0

2x USB 2.0

Headphone

Microphone

Max. graphics card length 18.1″ or 13.4″, depending on drive bay config
Max. CPU cooler height 7.1″
Gap behind motherboard 1.1″

The 750D is taller and slightly wider than the 650D. The added internal headroom enables support for larger motherboards—EATX and XL-ATX—as well as one additional expansion slot, for a total of nine slots. Corsair has lopped off one 5.25″ drive bay, but it’s kept the number of 3.5″ bays unchanged, and it’s added four dedicated 2.5″ bays. I suspect those 2.5″ bays will be much more useful in a modern build than a fourth optical drive bay.

On the cooling front, the 750D replaces its predecessor’s 200-mm front intake fan with two 140-mm spinners, and it switches out the 120-mm rear exhaust for a larger, 140-mm fan. However, there’s no replacement for the 650D’s 200-mm top exhaust fan. The 750D just has an empty vent in that spot. Users are free to stick any number of cooling devices up there, of course, but they’ll have to bring their own.

Oh, and FireWire is absent from the front port cluster. I doubt that omission will cause much grief, though.

Sorry for throwing all those specs at you all at once, but I hope it’s becoming clear that the 650D and 750D are two very different products. In fact, given their differences, I’d say they should be viewed not as two iterations of the same product, but as two separate offerings aimed at different users. That’s the reality—and a look at store shelves will likely tell you as much. Corsair tells us the 750D isn’t a “straight out replacement” for the 650D. Both cases should co-exist in the market, at least in the short term.

A closer look

Now that we’ve looked through the key specs, let’s take a closer look behind those sleek black panels. And, you know, at whatever else there is to see.

That’s plenty of front-panel I/O for a $160 case. Corsair supplies the usual audio jacks as well as four USB ports—two SuperSpeed and two USB 2.0. The USB 3.0 ports connect to the motherboard via a dedicated header, unlike on the 650D, where you had a couple of pass-through cables with type-A plugs, which you were supposed to connect to the rear I/O cluster.

Just like on the 350D, the lower half of the front panel can be removed to uncover the (also-removable) dust filter. Simply pushing in on the top two corners of the panel detaches it. That mechanism is convenient when clearing dust bunnies away, but it can be a pain when lugging the case around. It’s easy to put your hand in the wrong spot and unlatch one side of the panel by accident.

Speaking of dust bunnies, I think the 750D is the first Corsair case we’ve tested that covers the top cooling vent with a removable filter. That’s a nice touch. Even the 650D leaves that vent open to the elements, making it all too easy for dust, crumbs, and the like to drop in and cling to the hardware inside.

The top dust filter is rimmed with magnetic strips, which makes removal easy. The filter is also simple to put back into place; it just kinda sticks there. The magnets are pretty strong, too, so accidental removal is unlikely. The top vent can accommodate various combinations of 120-mm or 140-mm fans—or, if you’re into liquid cooling, a humongous 360-mm radiator.

Unfastening the 750D’s left panel reveals the internals, which are roomy. Very roomy. Corsair has forgotten none of the usual ingredients. We’ve got a cut-out behind the CPU socket, a generous assortment of rubber-lined cable-routing holes, tool-less drive bays, a stealthy black paint job, and so forth.

Note the default fan arrangement: two 140-mm spinners at the front and one at the back. I’m no fluid dynamics expert, but it sure seems like that arrangement will result in positive air pressure inside the case. That, in turn, should ensure that air only comes in through the filtered front vents, rather than through eaves and crannies large enough to let dust inside.

A number of Corsair’s other cases, including the 650D, have more fans dedicated to exhaust than to intake, which tells me they probably have negative internal pressure. Coupled with an unfiltered top vent, negative pressure can make for a very dusty enclosure. That’s the case with the Graphite Series 600T that houses my own PC, anyhow.

The 3.5″ drive cages are the same as those inside the 650D and 600T. Each cage plays host to three removable trays, which can each accommodate either one 3.5″ hard drive or one 2.5″ SSD. The hard drives snap into the trays without the need for screws, but 2.5″ drives must be screwed in.

Out of the box, the 750D comes with its two cages mounted side by side. The cages are stackable, though, so other arrangements are possible. For example, you can stack the cages on top of each other at the bottom, or you can hang them from the 5.25″ bays at the top. The default arrangement is better for long graphics cards, but the stacked setups should make cable routing more convenient, especially for folks using large power supplies.

By the way, you can order additional drive cages from Corsair’s website for $9.99 a piece. As far as I can tell, users should be able to supplement the two default cages with an extra pair, for a total of a dozen 3.5″ bays. Three cages can be slotted in between the 5.25″ bays and the bottom of the enclosure, and a fourth one can sit behind the PSU.

A closer look—continued

Now, what’s going on around the other side of the case?

Mmm. Yeah, look at that matte black finish.

Ahem. Well, there’s definitely plenty of room for cable routing. Corsair leaves just over a inch of space between the motherboard tray and the side panel; coupled with the substantial surface area available, that means even storage-heavy configs should be relatively easy to keep tidy.

Speaking of storage, this is where Corsair puts the 750D’s four dedicated 2.5″ drive bays.

Those 2.5″ bays are tool-less, and they behave very much like the ones in the 350D, except for the fact that they’re not stackable. The bays have a plastic spring and a release lever to make drive removal easier, and they snap onto the side of the chassis without the help of screws. The snapping procedure is a bit awkward—but hey, it beats having to get in there with a screwdriver.

There’s even more going on under the case. Here, we find a removable dust filter for the power supply’s intake fan, as well as emplacements for two 120-mm fans (or one 240-mm radiator). Those last two bottom vents aren’t filtered, though, and populating them requires relocating the 3.5″ drive cages. Luckily, since the cages fit together and can be mounted just under the 5.25″ bays, there’s no need to remove any of them, even if you stick a big radiator at the bottom.

The assembly

If the previous photos didn’t make it clear how frickin’ big the 750D is, this one should.

The 750D is so big that it dwarfs our ATX motherboard. For the most part, that’s a good thing. We didn’t feel cramped while putting together our system, and there was plenty of extra space to run cables and make everything nice and tidy. The only notable exception was the power supply; with the drive cages in the default position, there wasn’t a ton of room behind the unit. Moving cages around—or removing them altogether—is always an option, though.

Our only gripe with the 750D’s huge dimensions is that, depending on where your motherboard’s three-pin fan headers are located, routing the wires for the two front fans may be awkward. In our case, the wires were almost too short to route behind the motherboard tray. The pictures above show one of the wires going right across the belly of our SSD and reaching diagonally up toward the mobo.

We had no problem with the other cables, though. Even the processor’s auxiliary 12V power cable had an acceptable amount of slack when plugged in.

On the storage front, installing hard drives was as simple as snapping them to a 3.5″ drive tray and sliding the tray back into the case. The optical drive installation was similarly easy. We just removed the front cover and slid in our DVD burner until it clicked into place. To release it, we simply pulled the tab and pushed the optical drive back out.

The four side-mounted 2.5″ bays were also fairly simple to use, although they did complicate cable routing somewhat. We had to be careful, for instance, to run the fan wires between the cages rather than through them. Otherwise, taking the cages out would have required unplugging the fans first.

 

Minor niggles aside, building a PC inside the Obsidian Series 750D is pretty much like what you’d expect from working with a Corsair case. In one word: painless.

Our testing methods

Here are the components we used:

Processor Intel Core i7-2600K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LE Plus
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 SDRAM at 1333MHz
Graphics card XFX Radeon HD 7870 Black Edition
Sound card Asus Xonar DG
Storage Samsung 830 Series 128GB

Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB

Asus Blu-ray combo

Power supply Corsair HX750W 750W
CPU cooler Thermaltake Frio
OS Windows 8 Pro

We’d like to thanks Asus, Corsair, Kingston, Intel, Samsung, Thermaltake, and XFX for supplying all this excellent hardware.

We tested using the following applications:

The tests and methods we employed are publicly available and reproducible. If you have questions about our methods, hit our forums to discuss them with us.

Temperatures and noise levels

We used AIDA64 to keep track of temperatures for individual system components (the processor, GPU, motherboard, and storage drives) throughout a 40-minute period.

We left the system idle at the Windows 8 desktop for 10 minutes. Then we fired up the Heaven GPU benchmark and left it running by itself for 10 minutes. We then added a Prime95 CPU torture test to the mix and left it running, together with the Heaven benchmark, for 10 minutes. Finally, we stopped both tests and let the system cool down for the final 10-minute stretch.

The Obsidian Series 750D was compared to Corsair’s Obsidian Series 650D with its fan controller set to the low setting. The other settings spun the fans needlessly fast and were much louder, even at idle, than the 750D. The low preset gave us the best apples-to-apples comparison between these two cases.

Here are the results, plotted as lines over time. You can click the buttons below the graph to see temperatures for the different components:


The plots above depict broad trends; we can also give you exact numbers. The bar chart below shows the minimum temperatures from the idle and cooldown parts of the run. It also shows the highest temperatures recorded during the two load tests.


The temperatures of our processor and GPU—the two most power-hungry components—were largely similar in the 650D and the 750D. The 750D did run a few degrees hotter here and there, but the differences were, for the most part, very small.

The only substantial delta was in SSD temperatures. That’s no great surprise, since the 750D’s dedicated SSD bays are behind the motherboard tray, out of the path of airflow. Users worried about keeping their SSDs cool always have the option of mounting them to the 3.5″ trays in the main compartment. I wouldn’t bother, though. 2.5″ solid-state drives are designed to operate within the toasty confines of notebooks, and they can withstand much higher temperatures than a paltry 29°C. Intel’s 335 Series drives, for example, are rated for operation at up to 70°C.

What about noise levels? We used our TES-52 digital sound level meter to measure those.


The 650D’s marginally lower temperatures come at a cost: much higher noise levels, especially under load. The 750D was comparatively much quieter, with almost no difference in noise levels between idle and load. My ears confirmed those findings. The 750D whooshed discreetly regardless of what was going on inside, while the 650D whined and moaned during our Prime95 and Unigine Heaven test.

Clearly, then, the 750D does a better overall job of cooling components quietly than its predecessor. That’s a little surprising, since the 750D lacks the 650D’s huge 200-mm fans, but it’s definitely great news for those of us on (relatively) tight budgets.

Conclusions

The Obsidian Series 750D is a difficult product to wrap one’s head around.

Its model number suggests superiority to the 650D, and indeed, it surpasses the older model in a number of ways. At the same time, the 750D lacks a number of its predecessors trademark features, and it has a lower, more aggressive price. Corsair bills the 750D as a successor to the 650D, yet it’s candid about the fact that the two products will likely coexist in the marketplace for the foreseeable future.

Difficult indeed.

Happily, by spending a little quality time with the 750D and 650D side by side, we’ve been able to demystify things a little. The long and short of it is that, while the 750D may be lacking in the luxury department, it’s a very well-designed enclosure with delightfully quiet cooling and enough expansion to satisfy… well, just about anyone.

Just think about it. The 750D can be populated with an EATX motherboard, six hard drives, and four SSDs. There’s room for two additional drive cages, each one capable of accommodating three extra hard drives. You can fit up to eight fans, and there are emplacements at the top, front, and bottom for 240-mm or longer radiators.

You probably don’t need anywhere near that much headroom, of course. But even for a run-of-the-mill build, I’d be inclined to recommend the 750D over the 650D. The 750D runs much quieter, and I expect it will attract less dust over time thanks to its positive-pressure fan arrangement and filtered top vent. I don’t know that I’d trade those perks for a built-in drive dock and side-panel latches—especially considering the prevalence of third-party USB 3.0 docks and external hard drives nowadays.

If I had one bad thing to say about the 750D, it would be this: the thing feels… well, too big at times. Even with dual graphics cards and a four-drive RAID, you’d only be scratching the surface of the case’s expansion potential. Part of me wishes Corsair had gone with something a little more compact, perhaps saving enough on the material costs to bring back some of the 650D’s features. Then again, Corsair already offers a case for folks with more reasonable expansion requirements; it’s called the Obsidian Series 350D, and it’s another TR Recommended award winner.

Comments closed
    • kamikaziechameleon
    • 6 years ago

    The Corsair 750D is not hot swappable. 🙁

    Does Corsair have a similar sized case with Hot Swap functionality?

    • Vortex_AD
    • 6 years ago

    Nice case. Wish it wasn’t so pricey, but at the same time, worth the price.

    • LoneWolf15
    • 6 years ago

    I like my 650D –but I don’t want a bigger one –I want a smaller one.

      • superjawes
      • 6 years ago

      [url=https://techreport.com/review/25222/corsair-obsidian-series-350d-case-reviewed<]Here you go.[/url<] Okay, it's not as small as other mATX cases, and it only takes mATX boards, but it's still in the family and smaller than the 650D.

    • tanker27
    • 6 years ago

    I have the original Obsidian 800D case. While I love it and all its cable routing gloriousness, its a bit too much. I’ve been eyeballing a smaller Obsidian like the 650, 550, or even the Graphite 600T (although I dont care for plastic all that much)

      • ColeLT1
      • 6 years ago

      I love my 800D, and if I were to sell it would go to the larger 900D 😀

    • Great_Big_Abyss
    • 6 years ago

    Read/watch the HWC review.

    [url<]http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/63328-corsair-obsidian-750d-review.html[/url<] You'll see that aside from a few minor niggles, the biggest drawback to this case was the lack of proper radiator support on the bottom panels. The fan holes at the front of the bottom panel are just too close to the front panel to allow a 240 or 280mm rad to fit. Being one of the best locations for mounting a secondary rad, this is a pretty big oversight. Nice case, but I'm having a really hard time finding the perfect case for myself.

    • HisDivineOrder
    • 6 years ago

    Corsair needs to stop making thousands of little products between their existing products and innovate again.

    You know. Like with a cube-shaped Obsidian case that targets silence and/or more fans. Also, having one with some side fans for GPU cooling would probably be a great thing, too.

    Not everyone wants a dust-collecting pseudo-glass side panel.

    • MadManOriginal
    • 6 years ago

    This has the 3.5″ drive bays that the 350D should have. The excessive number of 2.5″ bays in the 350D is dumb.

      • slowriot
      • 6 years ago

      I don’t understand Corsair’s fascination with 2.5″ drive cages either. The Air 540 should have a 3.5″ cage in its extra chamber, not a 2.5″ cage.

    • f0d
    • 6 years ago

    still waiting for that 900D review
    ever since i purchased one (and completely filled it) i have wanted to know what my favorite tech site would have to say about it

    yes i filled mine with custom water cooling 9 hard drives and sli graphics cards – i could actually use a BIGGER case in some ways lol 🙂

    • rhysl
    • 6 years ago

    How heavy is this case empty and with gear inside ?

    Unless mistaken I did not read this..

    • Chrispy_
    • 6 years ago

    As sick as I am over the abundance of giant cases that almost nobody needs/wants, I guess I should say that is a superb review of the 750D.

    You guys are getting better and better at providing high-quality photos of all the features that matter. [url=https://techreport.com/gallery/img.x?sz=gallery_full&id=69219<]This pic[/url<] really is a great example of what I mean - there's a lot of additional information you can infer from that, just because you photographed the filter that way.

    • NeelyCam
    • 6 years ago

    [quote<]There's hardly anything about the 650D that we don't like.[/quote<] How about its size..?

      • derFunkenstein
      • 6 years ago

      Yup. The 750 also seems to be one of those where the volume be about 80% air.

    • indeego
    • 6 years ago

    I have the Obsidian 650D and I’m not too pleased with it. It’s louder than I expected, and the top fan has randomly been making noises. I might need to revisit TR’s recommendations for your SS/editor’s/workstation builds.

      • RickyTick
      • 6 years ago

      The top fan on mine makes a horrible vibrating noise. I anchored it down better with a couple of zip ties, but that’s not a good solution. I’m not sure if it’s the fan itself or the case. Either way, I shouldn’t have to make remedies to it. I’m sure I could have RMA’d the case back to Newegg, but what a pain to completely disassemble the whole system. I think it would be easier and cheaper for me to just replace the top fan. Other than that, the 650D is fantastic, imo.

        • indeego
        • 6 years ago

        A case has one job, to cool/protect the components, and if it can’t get that one job right, it’s rating of “fantastic” gets marred significantly.

          • RickyTick
          • 6 years ago

          Well, I guess technically it does perform a “fantastic” job of cooling/protecting. It just makes a little noise in the process. However, point well taken.

      • LoneWolf15
      • 6 years ago

      I replaced the fan. Cooler Master Megaflow 200mm.

      Much better than stock; more air, less noise. Also optional red or blue LED. I’ll probably look at other fans for the front.

        • superjawes
        • 6 years ago

        I just built in a 650D as well, and I am considering new case fans to quiet it a bit.

        I still love the case. It’s easy to work in and has great features, but the noise can be distracting.

    • sschaem
    • 6 years ago

    Recently got a 330r and I’m pretty happy with it, beside:

    – The front header audio cable length make it so it will absolutely not reach the back of a motherboard. where 90% of boards have their audio header.

    – Side door are decent (patted with dampening material) but they are not that rigid.
    So you need to be crafty to place them back on. Kind of annoying.
    But then again, how often do you open the case…

    – the feet are short, plus the way the power supply is placed, the PSU intake fan pretty much touch the carpet.

    But I’m very happy with it. It doesn’t look flimsy and it was a breeze to install components.

    I was originally looking at the corsair AIR.. but didn’t like that it was Swiss cheese with its overly perforated sides.
    If Corsair design a 540 that ‘silent’ and more space optimized, I might not be able to resist…

      • StuG
      • 6 years ago

      Something interesting about the 330R (which I also own) is you can expand its HDD’s to 8 if you want. It supports 4 stock, if you buy the 300 HD Upgrade Kit with 2 Trays it actually has room for 4 drives (even though it sadly only comes with 2 more drive bay carriages). If you want all 4, you have to buy 2 of the kit. I have 8 drives in my 330R now and I couldn’t be happier. I have also found that putting in a second front fan was a must as well.

    • danny e.
    • 6 years ago

    I have a 650D for my next build in my newegg shopping cart at the moment.
    I shall replace it with the 750D.

    • Chrispy_
    • 6 years ago

    Four graphics cards,
    Thirteen drives (including [i<]three[/i<] optical bays) Eight fans. Really? Who has this much stuff in a case? uATX and mITX is where it's at, and it's where it's been for years. 99% of the sales for cases like this are because there's a lack of decently-small uATX and miTX options that would be much-better fits for the average PC. I'm sure <1% of people really do own and watercool a multi-gpu rig, but where are the cases for everyone else?

      • derFunkenstein
      • 6 years ago

      I don’t know about the “for years” part when you include mITX, but I do agree that’s where it’s “at” right now.

        • Chrispy_
        • 6 years ago

        Shuttle XPC’s started the trend

        Office PC’s and high-street vendors in the UK embraced mATX and FlexATX systems long before mITX picked up momentum thanks to Zotac, for the most part, I know that is true for Dell and HP, I assume the 2nd-tier providers also did this in the US for places like Wallmart etc like they did over here in places like PCWorld, Tesco and Sainsburys

          • derFunkenstein
          • 6 years ago

          Yes, Shuttle XPCs did start the trend as far as I know, but also as far as I know they’re not mITX – they were actually a little bit bigger. 2 slots instead of 1, for example. Picking nits, I suppose, because we agree – SFF is interesting. But only with Core 2 on the desktop could you really get top-of-the-line sufficiently cooled. I was always waiting for my Socket A Biostar Ideq to burst into flames.

      • Ryhadar
      • 6 years ago

      100% agree. The only mATX I would really recommend would be the corsair 350D, fractal define mini, TJ-08BE or the PS07. The latter two being the best built, but to me personally the most fugly.

      The other two have issues not found in their larger counter-parts that aren’t due to their smaller size. First I can think of off the top of my head is the define mini requires you to unscrew the front filters to clean them while the Define R4 does not.

      *EDIT* – SG09 and SG10 are good choices also.

      • slowriot
      • 6 years ago

      I’m failing to see the point you’re trying to make.

      [quote<]99% of the sales for cases like this are because there's a lack of decently-small uATX and miTX options that would be much-better fits for the average PC.[/quote<] The 750D is larger than the vast majority of ATX cases, let alone uATX or mITX options. There's literally no way you've looked through the mITX cases, the uATX cases, and the mid-tower ATX cases and found a lack of decent options. You do not end up at a class that's super-sized like the 750D because you couldn't find a decent small case. If you did, you did a terrible job of exploring the market options. Even Corsair offers a number of smaller-than-750D options that are just as high quality. A case like the 750D is for that <1% of people who have multi-GPU setups, plus a sound card, plus a video capture card, with 8 HDs and 2 SSDs, and a water cooling loop. You don't buy a case like the 750D because there is a lack of decent options in uATX and mITX, doing so would be incredibly silly. Now, you might end up buying say a Silverstone TJ-08 because you couldn't find a mini-ITX case that you liked. But that's a far cry from going "Looks like all the mITX cases suck, so why don't I just skip over all the wonderful cases in the mATX and mid-tower ATX form factors and buy one of the biggest ATX cases on the market".

        • Chrispy_
        • 6 years ago

        I strongly disagree with most of that.

        Retailers still stock at least three Full-ATX cases for every mITX or uATX, the choices are limited and your suggestion that Corsair’s smaller cases fit the bill is just laughable. Many of the “best options” in the uATX segment are overpriced and compromised in either design or build-quality.

        The 350D is [i<]much[/i<] larger by volume than most of the dual-socket E-ATX workstations I manage in this office, and it doesn't even hold a uATX motherboard. The oh-so-popular mITX BitFenix Prodigy also occupies more space than many common full-ATX cases. [b<]If space is of no concern, what is the point of even having uATX and mITX standards in the first place? Go small or go home.[/b<]

          • slowriot
          • 6 years ago

          On Newegg there is currently 99 Full/Super Tower ATX cases and 97 micro-ATX cases. Hardly “3 to 1” you’re suggesting. Though, at this point, I’m not sure you know the difference between a Full Tower ATX case and a Mid Tower ATX case. The 750D is firmly in the Full Tower ATX category.

          Corsair makes a number of cases that are smaller than the 750D. None of them are “small”, which wasn’t what I claimed anyway, but all of them except the 900D are smaller than the 750D.

          The 350D is a micro-ATX case aka uATX. It most certainly holds a “uATX” motherboard, but again at this point it seems you’re using definitions the rest of the world doesn’t. If you look at the first TR article regarding the 350D you will find my comments stating that it is unnecessarily large for the form factor and features.

          The BitFenix Prodigy is not bigger than any “Full” ATX (meaning Full Tower, not mid-tower, which it is only larger than a select few such case. It is larger than many micro-ATX cases though), regardless, it is not a good example of the size benefits you can achieve with mini-ITX. Cases I have owned though like the Lian Li TU200 (sitting at home on my desk) or especially a case like the SilverStone SG05 (which I have also owned) that do realize the size benefits.

          [quote<]If space is of no concern, what is the point of even having uATX and mITX standards in the first place? Go small or go home.[/quote<] What in the hell are you even talking about? We have micro-ATX and mini-ITX cases/standards because the vast majority of people don't a huge case like the 750D. Where in the world have a questioned the need for micro-ATX or mini-ITX? I haven't. My point is that your ridiculous statements regarding "99% of the sales for cases like this are because there's a lack of decently-small uATX and miTX options that would be much-better fits for the average PC." are not based in reality. No one is encountering the situation you detailed. There are numerous great options that are far smaller than the 750D you'd end up on if you goal was to make a mini-ITX or micro-ATX case and couldn't find one that fit your needs (I don't believe that anyway, there are a number of solid micro-ATX options and several good mini-ITX cases too). I would like to see more micro-ATX and mini-ITX options. But I'm not calling for the simultaneous end of Full Tower cases. It's like you have some kind of misconception that if huge cases exist than small ones can't.

            • Chrispy_
            • 6 years ago

            Trolling much?

            Newegg.com has 94 ATX “Full towers”, and 329 ATX “Mid Towers” as of the time of this post.
            Newegg.com has 21 Micro ATX “Mid Towers”, 43 Micro ATX “Mini Towers”

            [b<]Even being generous with definitions, it's actually more like six-to-one rather than the three-to-one I originally guessed,[/b<] making my original point even stronger. You appear to go off an a rant about my supposed Full-Tower vs Mid-Tower confusion, but I assure you it is not me who is confused, but [i<]you[/i<]. I think you misread [i<]"Full-ATX"[/i<] in my post as [i<]"Full-Tower".[/i<] [list<][*<]By Full-ATX I am referring to any case that fits a [b<]full-size[/b<] ATX board, which is up to 12 in × 9.6 in and needs at least 7 expansion slots in the case. [/*<][*<]MicroATX (or µATX or uATX or mATX - they're all the same thing) is referring to any case that accepts only µATX boards, the single most obvious difference being that it only needs 4 expansion slots.[/*<][/list<] Context is everything but my meaning is [i<]completely obvious[/i<] in context. But perhaps what I consider obvious is not obvious to you, and the error is mine.

            • slowriot
            • 6 years ago

            “Full-ATX” is not a case form factor. When you used that term I took it as you referring to Full Tower ATX cases. This distinction is important as there is a major size difference between Full Tower and Mid Tower ATX cases. The 750D is firmly in the Full Tower category, it’s a huge case even for Full Towers. You can’t realistically lump a case like the Lian Li PC-A05 into the same size category as the Corsair 750D because even though both support ATX motherboards they’re not remotely close in size, its equivalent to moving from a Mid Tower ATX case to a micro-ATX case. This, and your comment about the 350D not “holding” uATX motherboards made me very confused over your terminology.

            Regardless, this comment is still complete ridiculous:

            [quote<]99% of the sales for cases like this are because there's a lack of decently-small uATX and miTX options that would be much-better fits for the average PC.[/quote<] This is not a realistic statement. "Cases like this" refers to what exactly? I take it to refer to cases of a similar size as the 750D. Not to just mean "accepts an ATX" motherboard, because as I outlined above there is a massive difference in size between the types of ATX cases. If your intention is to build a mini-ITX system and you don't find a satisfactory mini-ITX case the chances of you ending up at the 750D (or a similarly sized case) are none, zero. That won't happen. You'll find a micro-ATX case that fits your needs almost guaranteed. Even in the extremely unlikely situation that you didn't even find a micro-ATX case that fit your desires, you wouldn't end up at the 750D. You'd end up at one of the much smaller Mid-Tower ATX cases (and I'd love to know what specific need you didn't find met by a micro-ATX case). The same holds if your intention is building a micro-ATX system. You're not going to find yourself staring at the Full Tower cases at Newegg. You're going to be looking at the Mid-Towers cases (and again, you must have had some very specific needs/desires). I would like to see more micro-ATX and mini-ITX cases. I do agree that the market would be better served in this regard as it would provide greater choice and increase the level of innovation. But, cases like the 750D should still exist and clearly Corsair isn't targeting the "average" system builder with this case, it is for a niche. I also don't think companies like Corsair are deaf and the choices are improving. The options in mini-ITX have improved greatly in the two years between my first mITX build and my second.

            • Chrispy_
            • 6 years ago

            Gah, you’re derailing this discussion over your nit-picking language/terminology when the main point I’m trying to make is that Newegg has 400+ cases designed for ATX boards and fewer than 100 cases aimed at either mITX or uATX boards.

            I think we agree on the main thing though which is that too many large (and good-quality) cases are being made and recommended in reviews, when we’d both like to actually see more uATX and mITX options.

            • slowriot
            • 6 years ago

            … how in the world do we have a discussion if we’re not on the same page regarding terminology?

            You keep lumping all the ATX motherboard supporting cases together. This isn’t a reasonable stance to take in my opinion. You can’t put a Lian Li PC-A05 and the Corsair 750D into the same size category because there is a huge difference in their size. The difference between those two is just as significant, if not more so, than the difference between the PC-A05 and SilverStone’s TJ-08.

            There are very few cases as large as the 750D. I wouldn’t want to see those options lessen.

            On the other hand, I think there’s far too many Mid-Tower cases that are largely the same (and Mid-Tower’s make up the majority of your 400+ number). If to see more uATX and mITX cases means the number of Mid-Tower cases shrinks then I’m fine with it. But again, I’m not sure what you’re calling for exactly because terms like “large” are ambiguous.

            • Chrispy_
            • 6 years ago

            You’re still derailing this discussion over a tangential point that has no relevance to my original post. Ironically, you agree with my conclusion that there aren’t enough smaller cases, so I don’t even see why you’re compelled to keep arguing about this!

            What makes the 750D a full-tower and not a mid-tower? You’re complaining about [i<]my interpretation[/i<] of [b<]ambiguous terminology[/b<] and your offered reasons for [i<]your[/i<] interpretation are also wrong [i<]IMO[/i<], Rather than leaving it at that you [b<]MUST[/b<] make me see things your way and can't just agree to disagree, or let this go - and that's basic bigotry (not generally a good trait to focus on). [b<]But I'll play anyway, since I'm curious where you're going with this and haven't really bothered looking into such an irrelevant tangent; Where is this 'tower-sizing' standard you are [u<]determined[/u<] to prove me wrong over?[/b<] As far as I know, there is [i<]no[/i<] standard that defines what a [i<]mid-tower[/i<] and [i<]full-tower[/i<] are. The only standard is [b<]ATX[/b<] and it is based on [b<]board compatibility[/b<], [i<]not[/i<] tower-height. This whole mid/full thing was how retailers classified things back in the old beige-boxed days of AT and baby AT. since a full tower was typically a floor-standing option with castors or feet - usually tall enough to support every expansion slot with a full length card (anchored both ends) and usually having at least six 5.25" bays in the upper chamber. Retailers started classifying cases as "mid tower" for Baby-AT at first because it was similar to a baby-AT desktop (horizontal) case, turned sideways. The main distinctions were a PSU that overhung the motherboard and drive bays that overhung the far end of some (or all) of the expansion slots. Both classifications had plenty of exceptions to the rule (because there was, and still is, no rule) but eventually as ATX designs started to appear, "full" meant that all the space perpendicular to the board was clear, with drives above or below in the tower, whilst "mid" meant that things like the PSU and 3.5" bays overhung the motherboard in various places. By that definition (which is implied, and not actually standardised anywhere), almost all "mid-towers" sold today are actually "full-towers". [b<]Ambiguous and useless, which is why this entire argument you seem intent on having is pointless.[/b<] There are three common motherboard sizes at the moment: mITX, uATX and (just) ATX. I'm simply trying to say that (just) ATX cases are bigger than 99% of the typical user needs, and before you get anally-retentive over my use of exactly 99%, you should also assume that 99% is a guess, perhaps an [i<]exaggeration[/i<] and not to be taken quantatively. (I want to quash that discussion before it even starts, thanks...)

            • slowriot
            • 6 years ago

            Right, Chrispy. Because retailers like Newegg and TigerDirect don’t provide ways to search on whether you want a full or mid tower ATX case. Because manufacturers like Corsair, Cooler Master, Antec, Silverstone, etc, etc don’t use these terms in their product listings. Because these distinctions are not used across forum discussions. Because you never seen these terms mentioned in case reviews.

            You’re right, it’s not a “standard.” It’s just an extremely useful and common distinction that many, many people make use of… except you. Whatever….

      • f0d
      • 6 years ago

      “Really? Who has this much stuff in a case?”
      me
      i have 9 hard drives sli graphics cards that are split further than normal so they can suck air in better (so take up the space of 4 graphics cards) 14 fans and custom water cooling using an xspc rx360 rad + raystorm block with koolance pmp450s pump at 24v – 6 ultra kaze 3k fans with 3 on rad and 4 xspc fans for the lower section and a massive 450mm ek reservoir

      imo its the bigger larger cases (bigger than 750D) that are rare as there are tons of smaller cases around – theres probably only about 5 other cases as big as the 900D

      350D sounds like a perfect case for you and if you want smaller then thats a niche that on the other end of the extreme scale imo (extremely small cases instead of extremely big) which there are still a lot more of than the extremely big cases

      we have to admit it we are BOTH part of a niche but at the other ends of the scale, you want extremely small and i want extremely big – most people get in between cases (like the 350D)

      heres a quick list of SOME small cases fractal design array r2 and node 304, lianli pcv353/pcq08/pcq11, silverstone sg05/sg06/sg08/sg10, coolermaster elite 120, bitfenix prodigy, antec isk
      one of them should suit your needs

        • Chrispy_
        • 6 years ago

        Indeed 🙂

        That list of smaller cases is a good list, I’ve used most of them in builds for myself/others. Unfortunately, it’s nearly a complete list of [b<]decent[/b<] smaller cases. You can count [i<]quality[/i<] mATX offerings on your fingers and toes, almost. At least there are some good mITX options around. It is actually quite like your hunt for suitable giant cases; the market is flooded with oversized ATX boxes that are big for no good reason (no E-ATX support, no room for large radiators) yet they're still too small for people with a full compliment of drives, cards and cooling....

    • Ryhadar
    • 6 years ago

    Ugh… Look at how much installing a DVD drive ruins the front.

    The case is practically saying, “Please, [i<]please[/i<] take this out of me." Fine looking internals nonetheless. Shame some of these improvements weren't included in the smaller 350D (top dust filter, bottom fan mount, USB 2.0 ports, etc.).

      • superjawes
      • 6 years ago

      With cases like this, I wish people like Corsair would just integrate a DVD drive into the chassis. That would preserve the case aestetic and add value overall.

      At least that’s my opinion…

        • RickyTick
        • 6 years ago

        +1 for you. I like that idea. It would really be a nice touch.

        • slowriot
        • 6 years ago

        Add value? Corsair wouldn’t include a DVD drive for free. They would charge for it and like at a premium.

          • superjawes
          • 6 years ago

          I didn’t say “put in it and don’t change the price”…

          And yes, it would add value if you look at Ryhadar’s comment. If you grab an off the shelf drive, it will probably clash with the aestetic of the case (as is the case on the 750D in this review). Because of the design, neither the drive nor the face it extrudes from are flush with the rest of the front.

          I like the look of Corsair’s Obsidian series, but that sticks out like a sore thumb. Charge me a premium and include a drive that matches.

            • RickyTick
            • 6 years ago

            I have the 650D and added an Asus DVD burner. The shade of black is only slightly off and mine is perfectly flush with the front panel. I’m happy with mine, but I agree that the 750D pictured above isn’t very appealing.

            • slowriot
            • 6 years ago

            Pop the front off the DVD drive, attach the 5.25″ face plate. Or, Corsair can include a matching face plate for optical drives similar to what Lian Li does on many of their higher end all aluminum cases. Cheaper, better solution to Corsair integrating a drive themselves.

            • iatacs19
            • 6 years ago

            This would be ideal and wouldn’t add to the cost. I don’t know why they didn’t do it…

      • FuturePastNow
      • 6 years ago

      I’m not sure I’d want to use an optical drive that came with a case, even a nice case. I mean, I have several Antec cases that came with power supplies, and I’m still using the cases but those PSUs got recycled long ago.

      Instead I’d just like to see some nice stealth drive covers.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This