Video review: Corsair Raptor M45, Vengeance M65 & M95

For our first full-length video review, we take a look at several Corsair gaming mice, the FPS-focused Raptor M45 and Vengeance M65 and the RPG-ready Vengeance M95.

Comments closed
    • Ph.D
    • 5 years ago

    It would probably be better to show more of the mouse and its software. Just listening while watching someone play some Unreal kind of defeats the whole purpose of having a video review.

    Maybe this is because you do not own a good camera to shoot some footage but it’s still worth considering.

    • allreadydead
    • 5 years ago

    Oh please, someone let those manufacturers know about that not returning to default profile is VERY lame. It’s annoying and Razer Synapse does not return to default just like Corsair. However, Logitech’s gaming software (did they rename it yet ? i’ve been using 8.5x version for sometime ) software manages to do it for quite a while.
    I have multiple requests and bug reports sent to Razer Support but no luck so far.

    Btw, a good start, Jr 🙂

      • Heartborne
      • 5 years ago

      Logitech Gaming Software (8.52.15) with my G400 in Windows 8.1upd1 still loses focus some times, it’s really frustrating.

      I use a default profile that has the thumb buttons as “back” “forward”, so it detects Mouse4 and Mouse5 in games.
      Unfortunately, when I use my other profiles (it auto. detects the executable), some times, it loses focus of that executable and you end up doing a “back/forward” instead of the intended keypress — let’s say for browsers, I program the thumbs as “alt+tab” and “alt+shit+tab” (next and previous tabs), I don’t want it to move back and forward when I’m expecting a tab switch, it has a very erratic behavior. I wonder if Corsair’s do the same.
      —–

      @gyromancer
      Thank you for the vid. review. Even though I prefer text (I used TTS all the time), I don’t mind video at all. I just suggest that you write a script and ad lib a bit less :). Good to see some UT2004 eheh.

    • itachi
    • 5 years ago

    I got a Steelseries sensei, it’s good, but after I got it the first thing I thought was, daym, for that price it could be at least ergonomic ! like really ambidextrous, doesn’t make sense, just make a left handed model if you really want to have it available for left handed it’s not like there are that many, but after a while you get used to it and it just feels good though :).

    Also I didn’t know the Raw model was there for cheaper.. uh.

    You should review the new(or maybe already out) CoolerMaster Mouses they seem pretty awesome to me, if I’d knew I’d just wait for the Mizar.

      • itachi
      • 5 years ago

      Oh plus the software sucks on the steelseries, and it’s oudated, and isnt guarantee windows 8… it works on mine but.. you know.

      • pandemonium
      • 5 years ago

      That’s why I went with the Ikari. It’s designed for right-hand use and the sensei was a tad too small, creating more of an uncomfortable claw grip than I want.

      Regarding these, they seem too large and would be uncomfortable for a claw grip. Palmers will be happy, I’m sure.

    • Wall Street
    • 5 years ago

    I can tell from the video that the author plays FPS games at too high of a sensitivity to be taken seriously for mouse reviews. His aim is pretty bad there. Try setting the mouse to at least 25 cm/360 in future reviews. This video looks so twitchy that it is impossible to tell if the mouse sensor is accurate or not.

      • Meadows
      • 5 years ago

      It is. The M65 and M95 both use a good sensor, I know that much.

    • appaws
    • 5 years ago

    I like video reviews a lot and I am thrilled to see Techreport doing them. Good job getting the information across, but it would be better to keep it shorter. Also, I was very distracted by the playing of Unreal and found myself unable to listen to what you were saying some of the time.

    For video review models to follow, I like Hardware Canucks for the short summary style, and “Tiny Tom” Logan at OC3D for the exhaustive style.

    • Sargent Duck
    • 5 years ago

    Video’s are good, but I prefer to read text for a number of reasons:

    – I can read a page while waiting for other tabs to load up
    – Don’t need headphones (when at work)
    – Watching video’s at work when the boss walks by makes you look like more of a slacker than reading text (which they might not even notice but video they will).
    – More convient when surfing on my phone while standing in line
    – I can read faster than watching a video
    – Part of the charm of TR is reading the witty puns/jokes. This is more difficult in a video.

    But awesome, another addition to TR! Welcome!

    • Meadows
    • 5 years ago

    You’ve simply got to get rid of that “jingle” (if we can call 3 notes that) and commission something proper. The current animation and sound is too low-budget for a site asking for subscriptions.

    Observe this as a signature opening for example: [url<]http://youtu.be/AduQvX4nU0k[/url<] At the very least make it so that the jingle doesn't cut off abruptly as the review starts.

      • tipoo
      • 5 years ago

      I think the “low budget-ness” of it has to do with it being a guest writer (edit: Ah, damages son). It’s not really a full TR production, more of a pilot I guess.
      I’m not saying it’s bad, anonymous downvoters. Just not a full writer.

        • drfish
        • 5 years ago

        It’s Damage’s son…

          • tipoo
          • 5 years ago

          Oh, I didn’t know that. Still my point remains, it’s not a full on TR production or anything like that I think, just a side project.

          • DPete27
          • 5 years ago

          Passing on the ‘ol family business!

        • Gyromancer
        • 5 years ago

        The shortness of the intro has nothing to do with my presence, however, I don’t find it bad at all. Though I do find it funny that Meadows used TotalBiscuit’s intro as an example.

          • Meadows
          • 5 years ago

          Nobody said anything about shortness. I *want* a short intro.
          TotalBiscuit’s intro is a good example because it is fully animated and comes with a polyphonic sound effect that doesn’t sound like someone pecking keys on a cheap synth.

        • Meadows
        • 5 years ago

        TR have done videos before, and this was always their intro.

    • l33t-g4m3r
    • 5 years ago

    The quick dpi feature is intriguing, but other than that there’s nothing that really justifies the price compared to a logitech. Logitech seems to have a monopoly on nice mice, with things like their custom scroll wheel, slide out weights, programmable buttons, and ergonomics. My new fav is the g700s, since it is wired/wireless, and wired mode will charge your battery.

    Couple of neat accessories I’ve picked up have been a mouse bungee, and a ratpadz. Don’t know how I gamed without them.

    As for generic stuff, I kind of like a4tech’s products. Their gaming keyboards are programmable and spill proof, and their mice are decent if you don’t mind getting less buttons and a lower dpi. I don’t think I’ll buy a mechanical keyboard until someone makes one that’s spill proof / resistant. Too much money to throw away on one accident.

      • spugm1r3
      • 5 years ago

      I’d have to disagree. I’ve owned a lot of Logitech over the years (though the last good Logitech mouse I purchased was mx518, which I still have), and the Corsair M60 I picked up roughly 2 years ago blows them away in most respects. I don’t use the adjustable dpi (except for when my 2 year old changes it for me), but the weight and feel of the M60 screams quality, all the way down to the braided cable sleeves. I prefer the clicky feel and the responsive touch and I have yet to experience any of the glitchy software issues that have often plagued my Logitech purchases. Plus, paired up with the K60, they look pretty sexy on the desktop.

        • l33t-g4m3r
        • 5 years ago

        Funny. I never experienced software issues, while the video review here explicitly stated several big bugs that would completely break usability under any normal circumstance. Not to mention, if there actually was software issues, they’re avoidable by using the hardware profiles. The g500/g700 are improved laser replacements for the 518, and the g400 is a direct optical replacement.

        As for looks, logitech may not be making mice flashy as everyone else, but their functionality is definitely top notch. I don’t think I could try any other brand until they copy the dual-mode scroll wheel. That said, I could see a person who’s only used a 518 using a m65, because the m65 does offer more features than the 518. I wouldn’t pick it over a g500s though.

      • Meadows
      • 5 years ago

      There’s no “monopoly” on basic features like weights, programmable buttons, or — most of all — ergonomics.

        • l33t-g4m3r
        • 5 years ago

        There are plenty of other mice that can’t do ergonomics or software right. The above video mentions several show stopping software bugs, the screw in weights would be tedious to play with, and boxy looking shapes are often not comfortable to game with. Logitech has more consistent wins with their designs, whereas other mice are hit and miss.

        That said, I wouldn’t mind trying a m65 for $40, but the higher asking price means they’re directly competing against superior mice like the g500s, which I already have. You can’t sell people a new product at the same price, if it isn’t as good as the competition.

      • Duck
      • 5 years ago

      My G5 is such a piece of shit, which I bought after seeing all the positive reviews. I thought I was paying a high price for a premium product but I’ve been so disappointed. The braided cable has frayed, it’s got electrical tape wrapped around it. It’s barely usable now because of the temperamental mouse wheel and randomly dying and then coming back to life a second later. I seem to remember paying close to £40 for it. That’s such a lot of money for something so obviously mediocre with useless gimmicks.

      I’d only buy another similar mouse from them if there were no real alternatives, because at least it fits in the palm of my hand reasonably well, and at least it’s got an optical sensor (as opposed to a laser).

      Edit: I think it might actually be a laser after all, which makes sense now that I think back about how I would wipe the bottom to remove any tiny flecks of dust before it would track properly.

    • Laykun
    • 5 years ago

    I like my review vids short and sweet; aim for the 5-6 minute mark. A good first video though.

    • jessterman21
    • 5 years ago

    Great first vid. The chip hasn’t quite inherited the dulcet tones of the block, but good – nice and detailed review.

    • tipoo
    • 5 years ago

    You know what mice I really want reviewed, the Monoprice gaming mice. They make decent, lets say, borrowed designs from other companies, and what they have there for under 13 dollars look like a RAT, a Razer, and a Monster gaming mouse.

    I actually just ordered this one, we’ll see how it goes.

    [url<]http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=114&cp_id=11401&cs_id=1140101&p_id=11155&seq=1&format=2[/url<] EDIT: the mouse I ordered arrived, I can't believe what I paid for it! Feels and looks every bit as good as a Razer at probably over 6x the price. Havn't tried any gaming yet.

      • d0g_p00p
      • 5 years ago

      The Monoprice 9927 earbuds are amazing so I would guess that their mice would be decent. I was shocked to find this quality of earbuds for under $10 and they come with braided cables, something even my $300 Shure’s don’t have.

        • tipoo
        • 5 years ago

        I have those too! The product name is actually MEP-933, the 9927 is just the per-color number. I’d recommend the black or white since its ruberized, I have the chrome ones. They sound great, but they can hurt a bit long term. I’ve actually convinced a bunch of people to get them, and most love them (those without really small ears)

        And the mouse I ordered arrived, I can’t believe what I paid for it! Feels and looks every bit as good as a Razer at probably over 6x the price.

    • Duck
    • 5 years ago

    Meh, I hope TR isn’t going to make video reviews a regular thing.

      • tipoo
      • 5 years ago

      It seems like it was just for the guest/new/intern/whatever (EDIT: Oh, damage’s son) writer, for now. I wouldn’t mind video reviews, but with actual video of the product rather than all narration.

    • Milo Burke
    • 5 years ago

    Who is this Nathan Wasson? Let us know!

    For most purposes, I prefer text reviews. Text I can read while waiting on stuff in the office.

    When I click Nathan Wasson, it opens up an email to no one. Better have someone fix that. =]

      • Damage
      • 5 years ago

      Nathan Wasson is the guy formerly known around here as “Jr. Damage.” He’s not so junior anymore. 🙂

      Edit: Pictures, not so recent:

      [url<]https://techreport.com/news/1223/diapers-and-duallies[/url<]

        • Milo Burke
        • 5 years ago

        Excellent! A welcome addition to the team.

        Although he may want to include more recent pictures if he’s attaching pictures to a resume…

          • Gyromancer
          • 5 years ago

          Lol, thanks for the warm welcome.

          -Nathan

            • Milo Burke
            • 5 years ago

            Is that a hard or soft G-sound in Gyromancer?

            This is important. I don’t know which to imagine you as the master of:

            1) [url<]http://hindocarina.com/images/gyroscope_small.jpg[/url<] 2) [url<]http://www.thegyrocompany.com/images/sidebar-whatsagyro.jpg[/url<]

            • Gyromancer
            • 5 years ago

            Lol, I get number 2 as a joke from my friends and Damage, but it would be number 1. Its like gyroscope. But I do like gyros, mmm.

            • Milo Burke
            • 5 years ago

            What your dad does is really incredible. Nobody else does it like he does.

            I’m glad you’re on the team. And hopefully you can join the podcast too. =]

        • Cuhulin
        • 5 years ago

        Why do I suddenly feel old?

          • Aerugo
          • 5 years ago
      • Corion
      • 5 years ago

      Yeah, I can’t skim over a video review. 🙁

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This