The TR Podcast 159: Kaveri returns, Shield delivers, and Brix gets game

The Tech Report Podcast

Date: August 17, 2014
Duration: 1:24:55

Hosted by: Jordan Drake

Co-Hosts: Scott Wasson, Geoff Gasior, Cyril Kowaliski, and Jeff Kampman

Download:
MP3 (61.2MB)

Subscribe:
RSS (MP3) | RSS (M4A)
iTunes (MP3) | iTunes (M4A)

 

Show notes

Ok. We admit it. Things got a bit out of hand on this episode of the podcast. Uh… you’ll find out what we mean when you listen. Otherwise, it’s a smashing episode. Really.

Want to know what’s in this episode? Guess what, we have a whole list of everything talked about on the show right below this section. How great is that?!

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast. – jdrake@techreport.com

Follow us on Twitter – ScottJordanGeoffCyrilThe Tech Report

Tech discussion:

  • Almost $1K worth of prizes up for grabs in our haiku contest – Read more

    Best Buy CEO: Tablets ‘crashing,’ PC seeing ‘revival’ – Read more

    EA to charge $4.99/month for access to its biggest games – Read more

    Logitech gaming mouse combines optical and motion sensors – Read more

    Gigabyte’s Brix Gaming BXi5G-760 mini-PC reviewed – Read more

    Nvidia’s cascaded display tech looks awesome – Read more

    AMD’s A10-7800 processor reviewed – Read more

    First impressions of Nvidia’s Shield Tablet – Read more

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on the next episode.

Comments closed
    • Drooloverme
    • 5 years ago

    Oh gosh, what is up with these sticks in the mud!!!! The burping wasn’t even that bad, there’s other podcasts who do it, it’s entertainment and believe it or not it makes new people listen.
    Plus I’ve listened to this show before and I think it adds some funness. In the future you should do it again to cause an uproar haha, don’t warn anyone this time 😉

    That tablet sounds great by the way, I have a Samsung Galaxy tab 2 and it’s great but after a while it freezes and acts crazy, the Web browsers on Android drive me nuts, with the technology we have now I don’t understand why we still can’t watch and download flash videos or apply for jobs without the browser loosing information, it’s truly crazy.

    • Freon
    • 5 years ago

    You read my haiku! I’m famous! *drops mic*

    Also, I’m a few podcasts behind…

    • Shambles
    • 5 years ago

    Well… that was an embarrassment. The last thing I’m looking for in a podcast is some idiot burping in my ear. With headphones on it’s like he’s doing it two inches from my ear. Stopped and deleted the podcast after about 30 minutes.

    • odizzido
    • 5 years ago

    For me netbooks weren’t about the price. They were small and had great battery life which is really important to me.

      • dragosmp
      • 5 years ago

      Great matte screens on the EEEPC 10″ line, too

      Ok the CPU was a bit slow, but once I doucbled the RAM and put an SSD in, it became a pretty potent lightweight laptop with great screen, keyboard and battery life. The alternative was paying more than double for a marginally better Core2Duo CULV @1.4GHz-ish with doubtful screen/keyboard. /endrant

      P.S. EEEPCs can be OCed too with close-to-no impact on battery life. A 2.1GHz 1st gen Atom is a bit more acceptable than the stock 1.6

    • Milo Burke
    • 5 years ago

    I particularly enjoyed Cyril’s quick, sarcastic wit this episode. Keep it coming. =]

    • aggies11
    • 5 years ago

    Punchy Jordan is my favorite Jordan!

    My personal opinion is that it’s a tech podcast, which means it has the potential to get *incredibly* dry. The injection of some humor or really anything to vary/spice things up and keep the participants on their toes goes a long way. I definitely appreciate the effort jdrake puts in to that purpose.

    The burps really didn’t hit the mark for me, but I also didn’t mind them and appreciated the attempt. The previous food crunching bit a ways ago had me in stitches at the time though.

    While complaints/negative feedback always flows quickest, rest assured that your efforts do not go unappreciated Jordan.

      • dragosmp
      • 5 years ago

      +1

      Not a big fan of (others) burping, but a bit of messing around is always fun

    • diesavagenation
    • 5 years ago
    • slowriot
    • 5 years ago

    I haven’t even listened yet but I want more burping. Seriously, any opportunity you have to “upset” [i<]those[/i<] people the better.

    • Jon1984
    • 5 years ago

    Yeah, the burping was a little to much i guess. I can be funny once, but I think you exaggerated.

    • ssidbroadcast
    • 5 years ago

    I know you like to kick your feet up a bit on the podcast, but the belching was just a little too unprofessional. This episode might shoo off new listeners.

    Also, Scott’s recording quality is a real shame this episode.

      • jdrake
      • 5 years ago

      Et tu, Brute?

      • fent
      • 5 years ago

      Don’t worry, it will shoo off old listeners too.

    • ChangWang
    • 5 years ago

    Ok, so…. After I found myself yelling at my car’s stereo, I had to stop listening. The lame jokes are already enough, but the burping was just too much.

      • jdrake
      • 5 years ago

      Noted. Love you too!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This