Apple’s A9 impresses and the Nexus strikes back: The TR Podcast 188

Duration: 1:26:23

Hosted by: Luke McCready

Co-hosts: Scott Wasson, Jeff Kampman, and Ben Funk

Download:
MP3

Subscribe:
RSS (MP3) | iTunes (MP3)

Show notes

In this episode, we overcome some technical difficulties to chat about the performance gains Apple baked into the A9 SoC, the state of AMD in 2015, Google’s latest slate of Nexus and Pixel devices, and more.

We stream each of our podcast recording sessions live on Twitch. To be notified when we go live, subscribe to our Twitch channel or follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

Send in listener mail, and we’ll answer on the podcast: jkampman@techreport.com

Follow us on Twitter: ScottJeffBenThe Tech Report

Video edition

That’s all, folks! We’ll see you on the next episode.

Comments closed
    • Tower
    • 4 years ago

    So pretty quiet on the podcast front, hoping you guys can get back into a semi normal schedule come the new year (minus CES of course, you poor buggers)

      • FrostyWinnipeg
      • 4 years ago

      I don’t think there’s anyone left at TTR to do a podcast 😛

    • terminalrecluse
    • 4 years ago

    Damage and co.,

    I know you’re overworked and enjoying a much needed break (if you’re not taking one, you should be, the articles and the podcasts are top notch) I was just curious: given how awesome the podcasts are, any chance you’ll make one some time soon, or have an ETA of the next one?

    • dsingh72
    • 4 years ago
    • dsingh72
    • 4 years ago
    • Mr Bill
    • 4 years ago

    I sure was glad to hear you say you are still working on a nano review. I was beginning to think TR had decided to just roll a few benchmark results into ongoing reviews of other cards.

      • D@ Br@b($)!
      • 4 years ago

      Another nano review!?

      😉

    • torquer
    • 4 years ago

    I moved from a 6 plus to a 6s as I thought the plus was just too big. I don’t think it’s that huge of an upgrade but it is noticeably faster which I did not expect. Apple really does have some serious CPU design chops. Of course they own the hardware and software, a claim only they can make.

      • tipoo
      • 4 years ago

      Yeah, you don’t really notice how much the 6 lags in all the little places until you get a 6S. It’s weird though, since the A8 is still very well in the flagship SoC tier. The 1GB RAM may be the bigger point. But still, iOS really should still be optimized more for the one just one model behind. Let alone how bad 9 is on A5 devices.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This