Star Wars Battlefront video review

Here’s our take on Battlefront, the new, multiplayer-focused Star Wars game from EA Dice.

Comments closed
    • GatoRat
    • 4 years ago

    To summarize most the reviews I’ve read of this: it sucks.

    On the other hand, it’s turning into a good litmus test of who the suck up and/or clueless game reviewers are.

    • FubbHead
    • 4 years ago

    Tried the beta, and for me it shares the biggest drawback of the later BF games; the action is just too impatient and excessive. There is never any suspense or excitement, ever, simply because there is no time for it, everything has to happen all the time and everywhere..

    • Andrew Lauritzen
    • 4 years ago

    Great review – all of your comments are on point.

    Definitely the prettiest game out there ATM though 🙂

    • TwoEars
    • 4 years ago

    Great video review! Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Not really much for these multiplayer games myself but it was a nice review. The one Star Wars game I really want is KOTOR 3 made by Obsidian, I would kick-start the living crap out of that.

    • Krogoth
    • 4 years ago

    $60 is too much for a BF4 TC mod.

    Here comes upcoming $29 DLC for Episode 7 stuff.

      • Unclepauly
      • 4 years ago

      Game is almost nothing like BF4

        • Firestarter
        • 4 years ago

        too bad, it would’ve been better if it was

        • Krogoth
        • 4 years ago

        It is BF4 with energy bolt guns and Star-War theme vehicles. The current SW: BF has nothing in common with previous Battlefront titles outside of SW assets.

          • Unclepauly
          • 4 years ago

          You’ve shown how much you know and how much you like to appear to know. Either way it’s not worth my time. Seeya wouldn’t wanna beeya!

    • ZGradt
    • 4 years ago

    I played a little of the beta and I hated the movement. Strafing is almost useless. I also don’t understand why they have to lock out all the good weapons in modern games. You can’t even pick them up off the ground?

      • Gyromancer
      • 4 years ago

      That’s the new style, the military shooter. A few of them can be good, but arena shooters like Unreal Tournament will always be my favorite. If you do want a more militaryish fps with a good movement system, I suggest you check out Dirty Bomb. It takes good elements from both styles.

        • ZGradt
        • 4 years ago

        I looked up Dirty Bomb on Steam. Looks interesting. I prefer the arena shooters too. I got back into Quake Live at QuakeCon and I was running a UT4 server for a while (I don’t keep it updated like I should.) I’m also looking forward to Overwatch. I played a little last weekend. Seems a little unbalanced right now. I was wrecking people with D. Va, but Bastion or Soldier 76 are more my style.

      • travbrad
      • 4 years ago

      Yeah weapon unlocks annoy me too, especially in a game you paid for in the first place. It makes sense in a F2P game as a way to entice people to buy stuff, and can make sense in a single-player/RPG shooter but it has no place in this game or the Battlefield games.

      • Krogoth
      • 4 years ago

      Because they want to get players “hooked” via grinding. They do this by making unlockable stuff more powerful than stock stuff.

      EA and Dice have mastered this non-sense since BF2.

        • ZGradt
        • 4 years ago

        They’ve mistaken grinding for replayability.

    • Vrock
    • 4 years ago

    No single player. No thanks.

    • Laykun
    • 4 years ago

    Great video content.

    In my opinion you need to work on your content delivery, the in game footage is on point, I have no problem with that but more your delivery of the actual script explaining what you like/dislike about the game. I want to feel like you’re having a one way conversation with me, but at the moment it sounds like you’re reciting an essay which can be a little dry emotionally. For example, with parts of the game you dislike, it’d be nice to have it sound like you dislike that part of the game, you don’t have to go as far as Angry Joe style where he over the top yells at the top of his lungs, but imagine you’re trying to explain this to a dear friend or you’re having an argument with some one and you feel passionately that your interpretation needs to be understood. It’s not what you’re saying, but how you’re saying it. This will lend more contextual hints to your viewers about how you feel one way or another, and it’s nice to have that extra dimension.

    Thanks for the informative review however, I was wondering what the game actually entailed and whether I could be bothered plopping down 100 NZD for it. Maybe when it goes on sale ;).

      • Gyromancer
      • 4 years ago

      Thanks for the advice. I noticed that my voice seemed a bit flat in this video compared to others, but it still is definitely something I need to work on in general. The more constructive criticism I can get, the more I can hopefully improve.

        • Laykun
        • 4 years ago

        I look forward to your next video 🙂

      • auxy
      • 4 years ago

      This is good advice!

    • cavedog
    • 4 years ago

    Great job. This video was 9 min plus long and you had my attention the whole time. You got your point across succinctly.
    I look forward to more game reviews from you.
    Tell us what you think of fallout4 🙂

      • Gyromancer
      • 4 years ago

      We have a copy of Fallout 4 in Damage Labs, but I haven’t actually played it yet. I’ve watched a few streamers and Angry Joe’s review, but besides that, I haven’t gotten into it much. Borderlands 2 is more my style, but it seems like Bethesda upped the shooter mechanics, so I might have to give it a go. From what I have seen of it, the story looks good and all the factions and companions make for many varying play styles.

    • SomeOtherGeek
    • 4 years ago

    Wait a minute! Darth Vader does NOT run, does he?! I thought he was too good for that.

    • Shobai
    • 4 years ago

    Gyromancer,

    You mentioned that certain weapons require ‘charge’ which “can be bought, or picked up during a battle”. When you say “bought”, do you mean with real money? Or some sort of in game currency?

    [edit: turns out I wasn’t confused, as per ~5mins into the video]

      • Ari Atari
      • 4 years ago

      Yes, you are confused. From what I’ve seen, each person can have up to 3 activated abilities at a time. All have a cooldown and one slot that has better abilities requires charges for those abilities. The charges can be found in the battlefield or can be purchased in groups of something like 25 using the in game currency. AFAIK there isn’t a pay real money for charges thing.

        • f0d
        • 4 years ago

        [quote<]AFAIK there isn't a pay real money for charges thing[/quote<] just give it time im sure EA will make it happen

        • Shobai
        • 4 years ago

        I think you may have misunderstood the subject of my confusion, but thanks for clearing up the play/real money question.

          • Unclepauly
          • 4 years ago

          Lol the only question you raised was if charges could be bought with real money or in game currency. Unless you are typing about some confusion that was in your head and not in the post? If so I’ll leave you be.

    • Wildchild
    • 4 years ago

    I have been a huge Star Wars fan since I was a wee lad, but this game could not keep my attention. It really does feel like Battlefield 4 with a Star Wars re-skin + some arcade-y elements to it.

    At least it ran well and I didn’t run into any game-breaking bugs during the 2-3 hours I spent on it.

      • Airmantharp
      • 4 years ago

      Hell, if it even included Battlelog with servers and so on, which Battlefield has, it could have supplanted BF4. But they didn’t see fit to push Battlefront into that space, and for that, it will be ignored by the community.

      • Mikael33
      • 4 years ago

      If you want something closer to a Star Wars experience with story and such try out Knights of the Old Republic 1, and 2 if you install the unofficial patches, they’re RPGs btw. Bioware also made a MMORPG which has separate class for each of them and if you just want the story you can just do the class stories as free to play and mostly avoid the MMO part.

    • Mat3
    • 4 years ago

    I know there’s no campaign, but are there single player game modes? Or it’s all online and multiplayer?

    Edit–nevermind, found answer in review (yes).

    • Platedslicer
    • 4 years ago

    Damage, Jr.?

      • Damage
      • 4 years ago

      Yeah.

        • Platedslicer
        • 4 years ago

        Ok, in that case, I’ll wait until I get home and watch it before grumbling about the inconvenience of videos and how much better text is. 😀

          • Gyromancer
          • 4 years ago

          I could supply the text version, but I feel like that makes less sense for video game reviews. I guess I could show pictures.

            • TruthSerum
            • 4 years ago

            Charades..

            • Platedslicer
            • 4 years ago

            A bit of constructive criticism: in the first half of the video, it sounded to me like you were bored, or trying to speak quietly. It got better in the latter half, clearer and purposeful.

            Your point about multiplayer dying quickly is what turns me off from every multiplayer AAA game, especially the ones with “unlocks” and such. The business model of regular major releases pretty much guarantees that your accomplishments will go to waste, and sooner rather than later. It compares poorly with e-sport(ish), microtransaction-funded games like CS:GO, particularly if you’re the type who finds joy in becoming good at things.

            • tsk
            • 4 years ago

            Can you give me a quick summary, I’m at work and can’t watch.

    • brucethemoose
    • 4 years ago

    Planetside 2 kinda killed other multiplayer shooters for me. Once you get past PS2’s noob hump, everything else just seems so small in comparison.

      • Gyromancer
      • 4 years ago

      I play Planetside 2 as well, but this is a very different experience, sort of refreshing. But like I said, this isn’t a long term game.

    • merrymarian
    • 4 years ago

    I bought this game a few days ago and haven’t got around to play it yet. Perhaps its too late to start now, after seeing that review. =(

      • Gyromancer
      • 4 years ago

      If you’ve already bought it, you might as well give it a try.

      • bill94el
      • 4 years ago

      Seems that way merrymarian. It sounds like the hardchargers have already unlocked everything and anyone starting now will make very slow progress due to imbalance. At least that’s what it sounded like to me in the review.

      Sucks to be a newb only a few weeks into launch

        • TruthSerum
        • 4 years ago

        You see it in this review, he’s got the chaingun-sniper rifle and sits far away dominating newbs.

        That’s 3/4 of this game in the big game modes. Wait for the aimbots to dominate like every EA game, it takes around a month for them to really become obnoxious and in every game.

        Then you’re going to say “crap… 60 bucks coulda bought me an arduino..”

          • TEAMSWITCHER
          • 4 years ago

          I’m so glad I haven’t bought this game yet, and now I’m never going to. I’m not sure what the point is in making a game that you MUST buy and PLAY from day one. What a ridiculous and stupid way to make video games. I hope EA and Dice loose a ton of sales… Serves them right for being such dick heads.

            • Unclepauly
            • 4 years ago

            You’ll be missing out on about 75% of games then as pretty much all MP games have an unlock system these days.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This