Take a video tour of our Breadbox build

We recently built a small-form-factor PC we like to call the Breadbox with some help from our sponsors at Gigabyte, OCZ, G.Skill, EVGA, and Logitech. We documented this Breadbox on video, and now it’s ready to make its Hollywood debut. Grab some popcorn and enjoy our tour of this pint-sized gaming PC.

Comments closed
    • techguy
    • 5 years ago

    Sponsored content? How long has this been occurring at TR?

    • Wonders
    • 5 years ago

    Freaking awesome camerawork. A pleasure to watch.

    • Shoki
    • 5 years ago

    what is so bread box about it?

    • ultima_trev
    • 5 years ago

    Very well done, more build vlogs please!

      • Jeff Kampman
      • 5 years ago

      Thanks! I’m hoping to do more with the format quite soon.

        • Chrispy_
        • 5 years ago

        Aye. Ignoring my dislike of the “sponsored and convenient” choice of parts for the build, this was a great video – keep them coming!

          • geniekid
          • 5 years ago

          There were definitely parts of the video where it felt like certain phrases were dictated by the marketing department of whatever company was providing that specific part. I get that they probably expect something in return for giving you free hardware but I would welcome more transparency on the hardware-acquisition-process.

            • Jeff Kampman
            • 5 years ago

            As the first page of our build log and the first line of this post suggest, it is sponsored content (i.e., money changed hands for us to make that article and this video). I was fully in charge of the script, but the tone is admittedly a little different than what I might do for a TR-style video review.

    • tanker27
    • 5 years ago

    Ugg. A video. 🙁

      • morphine
      • 5 years ago

      [url<]https://techreport.com/review/29481/build-log-we-put-together-a-muscular-breadbox[/url<]

    • DPete27
    • 5 years ago

    When’s the giveaway?

      • morphine
      • 5 years ago

      I doubt Jeff wants to let go of this setup. 🙂

    • spiritwalker2222
    • 5 years ago

    If I was to get a case that big, I’d stick with a mATX system.

    • Mr Bill
    • 5 years ago

    Finally built a system build using a <7 inch video card. I dunno but maybe the 6.7 inch ASUS GTX970-DCMOC-4GD5 would be quieter. Or, you could spend $200 more and put in the 6 inch ASUS AMD Radeon R9 NANO.

    Edit: do they sell the case without a PSU so you could drop in a quieter Seasonic PSU?

      • biffzinker
      • 5 years ago

      Taking into consideration the recent price drop on R9 Nano plus the power consumption to performance ratio it has, would be tempting, and hard to ignore.

        • chuckula
        • 5 years ago

        Yeah speaking of which… a former TR editor happens to work for a company that has a little something to do with the R9-Nano.

        Could we maybe see a review? Or even one better: Put the Nano in this system to show how it performs in a true SFF environment?

          • Mr Bill
          • 5 years ago

          this ++
          That [url=https://techreport.com/review/28912/tiny-radeon-r9-nano-to-pack-a-wallop-at-650<]writeup in lieu of a review[/url<] was not enough. There is also at least one R9 380X that is less than 7 inches long.

    • TwoEars
    • 5 years ago

    My own kick-ass small pc would be like this:

    Fractal Design Define Nano S mini-itx case
    ASUS Z170I Pro Gaming motherboard
    Skylake i7 with Noctua PWM CPU cooler
    Kingston HyperX DDR4 Memory
    Noctua 2x140mm PWM fans in the front
    Noctua 1x120mm PWM fan in the rear
    Samsung 850 1TB Evo SSD
    Gigabyte Windforce 3x 980 Ti card
    Modular PSU from Corsair or EVGA

    If you’re wondering about why no M.2 ssd I don’t think the real world benefits are worth it since 4k performance is the same and I’d rather have more space for the same price.

    Great video of the case here: [url<]https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=45&v=91dl2_olSqU[/url<]

    • Kougar
    • 5 years ago

    I’m glad you mentioned the PSU fan’s noise level this time around, but to my ears no desktop should be this loud. Especially with such a decent liquid cooling setup. The Hadron Hydro is capable of cooling a CPU+GPU loop just fine which really makes the system quiet, at least if the PSU fan wasn’t there.

    As I said before I love the concept, and the pump/res/radiator were done right (compression fittings are a pain, but whatever) and the radiator uses copper tubes instead of aluminum like cheaper CLCs. The case needed an intake fan however, and I would have gladly traded case size just to make a full size PSU fit. That would’ve also left plenty of room for a fan up front.

    RE the video: If TTR wishes to do video reviews/tours I’d suggest capitalizing on it be including various sound recordings at the end of the video. Idle and sustained loads from sitting at the same desk as the system, and if it’s truly loud like this one then some sound levels from the room doorway… I can hear my Hadron Hydro’s PSU fan before I even enter my kitchen on a cold winter morning.

      • Chrispy_
      • 5 years ago

      I mentioned it in the build log but that case was likely picked because it was provided for free, not because it’s a good case.

      It’s expensive, it’s hugely inefficient with space for something designed to be small, it’s clunky with it’s inefficient external hosing, it uses a ridiculous PSU (yes, I am using that adjective correctly as it is the subject of much ridicule right now) and most importantly to me, it looks ugly.

      Whether or not you like the look of it is very subjective, but all the other points are not. It is a BAD CASE by every other real-world metric.

        • DrCR
        • 5 years ago

        To be honest, I cringed when I read this headline bring this up again — this build was not a TR high point to me. Don’t get me wrong, I love TR and have for over a decade, I simply found this build less than excellent.

          • Chrispy_
          • 5 years ago

          Heh, yeah – I have the cringe with this build for the exact same reasons.

          It even defiles the spirit of the build-guide’s “breadbox” title by being twice as large as its namesake.

      • DrCR
      • 5 years ago

      Any sound recording is only good when a reference fan recording is provided as well. To be honest, it’s really hard to match SPCR-level journalism for this subject matter.

        • Kougar
        • 5 years ago

        It is, I’ll admit SPCR was my go-to site for fan/cooler reviews for that reason.

        But video reviews don’t interest me much, so including things that can’t be found in text reviews like sound samples is something that would give the medium a leg up over usual text pieces.

    • kerwin
    • 5 years ago

    Great video! Talk about hardware porn…

    • colinstu12
    • 5 years ago

    50dB?! Holy crap that’s loud.

    Can a full length graphics card fit in that case?

    Can a H212 Evo fit in that case too?

    I would’ve ditched the watercooling personally…

      • Kougar
      • 5 years ago

      Yes, you can fit even a Titan GPU in it without crimping any cables.

      No, the H212 Evo won’t fit. The entire case is only ~6.6 inches wide, the H212 is 6.25 tall by itself.

      IMO the form-factor watercooling is one of the best aspects of that case, if one is willing to replace that PSU…

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This