Apple buffs and polishes every inch of its iPhone 7 and 7 Plus

Apple is continuing its relentless march forward with the release of the iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus today. As we’ve come to expect from Cupertino, these latest phones aren’t revolutionary in any one regard, but add up the changes and you get what may be some of the most compelling smartphones on the market. There’s a lot to cover with these new iPhones, so buckle up.

Outside, the iPhone 7 and 7 Plus look a lot like the models before them. Apple removed the horizontal antenna lines on the backs of the phones, but external antenna lines still wrap around the corners and edges of the device. A bigger camera bump on the regular iPhone 7 and a pair of lenses on the iPhone 7 Plus also give away the fact that you’re not looking at last year’s iPhones, as well.

More processing power

Apple exec Phil Schiller closed his iPhone presentation with a peek under the hood of these new devices, but we’re going to open with it. Both iPhone 7s will have a new SoC inside: the A10 Fusion. Though that name might sound like the renaissance of an AMD initiative from years past, it actually describes Apple’s first quad-core mobile chip. The A10 blends two high-performance CPU cores with two more low-power cores on the same package—basically an ARM big.LITTLE setup.

Apple claims the high-powered cores on its new SoC are as much as two times as fast as the cores inside the A8 SoC of the iPhone 6, while the energy-efficient cores of this SoC apparently consume one-fifth the power of the big cores. Apple says it included scheduling hardware that will ensure light tasks like email run on those more frugal processors, while more demanding tasks will spin up the high-octane cores. All told, the new SoC should let the iPhone 7 run up to two hours longer than the iPhone 6S, while the iPhone 7 Plus is claimed to have an extra hour in the tank compared to its Plus-size predecessor.

The A10 Fusion also includes a faster graphics processor, as well. Apple said frustratingly little about what’s going on inside the graphics block of the SoC, but we do know it’s claimed to be as much as three times as fast as the A8’s GPU. We expect we’ll have to wait until the new iPhones are in reviewers’ hands before we can learn just what’s going on in the graphics department for the A10.

No more headphone jack, no more mechanical home button

In what may have been one of the most hotly-debated design decisions of recent weeks, Apple dropped the standard analog headphone jack from the iPhone 7 in favor of passing audio through the Lightning port. Schiller inexplicably described “courage” as one of the reasons for the change.

While we’re still bemused by that logic from one of the world’s largest companies, Schiller defended the move with a couple of more practical lines of reasoning. He says the Lightning port already has the necessary high-quality audio support necessary to serve as a headphone jack, and he also notes that the move lets companies make devices like active-noise-cancelling headphones that can pair with companion apps to offer better user experiences than an analog jack might.

To help the rest of the world catch up, Apple will include a Lightning-to-3.5-mm-adapter in the iPhone 7 box, and it’ll replace the analog EarPod headphones with a Lightning-compatible version. Atypically for Apple dongles, the Lightning-to-3.5-mm adapter is only a $9 extra from the Apple Store, so folks who need to replace the inevitable lost adapter won’t be out a ton. Lightning-compatible EarPod headphones are $29. Apple will also be introducing a pair of wireless earphones, the $159 AirPods, that we’ll be covering separately.

As it’s already done with the trackpad on the MacBook and MacBook Pro, Apple dropped the physical home button from the iPhone 7 in favor of a haptic-feedback system powered by a revised version of the Taptic Engine vibrator that handled 3D Touch duties in the iPhone 6S. Schiller says this move lets developers make the home button behave in ways it otherwise wouldn’t be able to. We’ll have to see how it feels in practice.

These changes are partially to thank for the fact that the iPhone 7 and 7 Plus are now IP67-certified, meaning they won’t be taken out of commission by a dunk in the pool or a drop in the toilet. Whether that’s worth making these phones incompatible with most every set of headphones currently in existence remains to be seen, but we bet many buyers will appreciate the move with time.

 

Faster lenses and more of them

For the first time, the camera capabilities of the iPhone 7 and the iPhone 7 Plus will be vastly different. The regular iPhone 7 gets a new six-element lens with a wide f/1.8 aperture and optical image stabilization. The 12-MP sensor behind that lens is the same resolution as its predecessor, but it’s claimed to offer 60% higher read speeds off the sensor. It should also consume less energy while moving those bits around. Apple also claims to have designed a more powerful image signal processor for the A10 Fusion SoC. It uses that newfound power to perform functions like wide-gamut capture and faster white-balance and focusing calculations. Both phones now have 7MP selfie shooters, as well.

The iPhone 7 camera system

The iPhone 7 Plus takes that same basic 12-MP sensor and doubles the fun. While companies like Huawei have already introduced dual-lens cameras on their flagship phones, Apple is taking a different approach than those we’ve seen so far.

The dual lenses of the iPhone 7 Plus

Instead of using two similar lenses and sensors to capture different types of data about an image, the cameras in the iPhone 7 Plus use two lenses with different focal lengths. One is a 28-mm equivalent (compared to a 35-mm SLR’s), while the other is a 56-mm equivalent. At its most basic, the iPhone 7 offers a built-in 2X optical zoom, but Apple also uses that longer lens as a starting point to deliver up to a 10X zoom with electronic assistance.

Computer-generated bokeh from the iPhone 7 Plus

Having two lenses in the iPhone 7 Plus also allows Apple to perform some computational photography tricks beyond digital zoom. The company will be shipping a software update for iOS 10 later this year that lets the dual-lens system create a depth map of a scene and automatically blur the parts of a scene behind the subject. Other companies have already offered this feature for some time, but Apple’s take does seem to offer perfectly natural-looking bokeh (the appearance of out-of-focus areas in front of or behind the plane of best focus). If you’ve longed for DSLR-like portraiture from your phone, the iPhone 7 Plus will let you have a taste of that aesthetic.

The improvements to the camera system don’t stop at the capture stage. Apple also boosted the power of the dual-tone flash on both of its latest iPhones. The company now uses four LEDs for a brighter flash. The phones can now detect the flicker from some types of lighting, as well, allowing them to avoid improper exposure in environments that are primarily lit by fluorescent bulbs or in sports arenas.

More colorful displays and more colors, period

Other things about the iPhone 7 and 7 Plus have changed, but in less splashy ways. The Retina HD display on the new phones is claimed to be 25% brighter than past iPhones’ screens, and it also offers support for content with wide color gamuts (we’re guessing DCI P3, given Apple’s claim of “cinema-standard” colors and its use of that color space in its other screens). These displays are still IPS LCDs, however, so don’t expect the iPhone 7 to be ready for mobile VR. The iPhone 7 has a 1334×750 display, while the Plus keeps the 1920×1080 screen from its forebear.

The iPhone 7 will be available in two new colors: a “jet black” that looks a lot like the glossy finish on some Apple Watches, and a matte black that replaces the “space gray” that adorned many a past iPhone. The silver, gold, and rose gold finishes will stick around. In a move that deserves the word “finally,” Apple is finally bumping the base storage of the iPhone 7s to 32GB. 128GB is the new mid-range storage tier, while the top-end iPhones come with a whopping 256GB of space.

Unlocked iPhone 7s will be available starting at $649 for the 32GB model. The 128GB model will ring in at $749, while the 256GB range-topper will go for $849. iPhone 7 Pluses start at $769 for the 32GB model and top out at $969 for the 256GB monster. Pre-orders for the new phones will begin September 9, and shipments will begin September 16.

Comments closed
    • richardjhonson
    • 3 years ago
    • kamikaziechameleon
    • 3 years ago

    I have to be honest, this is a pretty awesome looking update to the product line.

    Pros
    New camera looks great
    New Surface design (in black any way) looks phenominal.
    Water proof, finally
    Better high end storage capacity

    Cons
    I could rationalize removing all buttons and ports except the headphone jack.
    I thought the thunderbolt port could go first… wireless charging and data rather than loosing the headphone jack.
    Why not drop all ports as more of a “brave” statement. Remove the power button since the thumb print can replace that and remove the volume rocker. Make the camera flush with the body (if that means thickening the body a bit who cares fill that with battery)

    Overall its pushing in a good direction with some exciting features but really pulls most of the punches. Still it looks darn good. Wonder if the speaker phone function still sucks on this model?

    • End User
    • 3 years ago

    It’s just past 3 AM on the 9th. I pre-ordered a 7 Plus 256GB in black. Huzzah!

      • ronch
      • 3 years ago

      Oh wow. That’s interesting! I’m so happy for you!!!

        • End User
        • 3 years ago

        Thank you. All it took was a little courage.

      • ColeLT1
      • 3 years ago

      Ordered 3x 32gb 7 black, 1x128gb 7+ black, and 1x 128gb 7 Silver this morning.

      I never used the headphone jack, my car and truck both have bluetooth and lightning/USB plugs. So just like my current 6, the headphones (and dongle) will remain in the box in their little case all sealed up to never be used.

      • Redocbew
      • 3 years ago

      Just a few hours before daybreak we have a rare glimpse of the widget fiend caught in its natural habitat. Its behavior defies logic and serves no discernible purpose, yet it seems to thrive and be sustained equally by both the anticipation of the widget and the widget its self.

        • End User
        • 3 years ago

        I love the smell of widgets in the morning.

      • Chrispy_
      • 3 years ago

      So you’re $969.00 down.

      What does that $969.00 get you that your other phone was incapable of doing?

        • sweatshopking
        • 3 years ago

        ego?

          • End User
          • 3 years ago

          Correction. Courageous ego.

        • End User
        • 3 years ago

        I’m down $1,700 CDN

        Why did I get the 7 Plus 256GB?

        – my sister needed a new phone so I gave her my iPhone 6 to replace her epic 4s
        – double the storage
        – better camera
        – larger display – higher resolution
        – double the performance
        – way better battery life
        – triple the memory

    • Chrispy_
    • 3 years ago

    As far as I can tell, the 7 (not the 7+) is an iPhone without a USP.

    It’s literally an iPhone6 as far as a user is concerned.

    • sweatshopking
    • 3 years ago

    [url<]http://www.neowin.net/news/fyi-apples-warranty-wont-cover-liquid-damage-to-its-new-water-resistant-iphone-7[/url<]

    • the
    • 3 years ago

    Well there goes my prediction that Apple would utilize SMT to increase performance. They’ve been pursuing a very wide core design where SMT would have been a natural fit. I wonder if it came down to power consumption.

    • ronch
    • 3 years ago

    Sometimes, I feel like every time there’s an iPhone or other iDevice product launch, the world treats it like it’s the only product really worth having in its category.

      • Chrispy_
      • 3 years ago

      It is the only product worth having in the category of “Overhyped Apple Product of the day”.

      With Apple losing marketshare slowly but surely, they need to do something completely new and original to avoid being eventually pushed out of the market by the big Android playersl;

      Globally they’re down to about 12% smartphone marketshare right now, though I’m sure the mad frezy of a few million iZealots replacing their perfectly serviceable 6S phones will boost that figure back up to maybe 15% temporarily this quarter.

    • jts888
    • 3 years ago

    I know I’m likely preaching to the choir for the most part here, but I am seriously disappointed by the 3.5mm removal for the (ostensible) pursuit of thinness here, especially given that the camera lens isn’t flush or recessed into the body anyway. Give me an extra mm thickness and a battery that lasts 30%+ longer and I wouldn’t complain.

    As it stands, I feel like users are being coerced into spending an extra $160 for headphones that arguably aren’t less hassle than corded ones, lest they suffer the new inconvenience of a dongle of dubious durability.

    Given the alternatives of needlessly clunkier corded headphones or $160 for wireless ones that can’t be used all day without recharging AND carrying around another little charger, the right choice is pretty clear for me: stick with the 6s indefinitely.

      • MathMan
      • 3 years ago

      The box will contain lightspeed wired connector earbuds, and the adapter cable.

      How that coerces anybody into buying those wireless headphones is a mystery.

      There’s no reason to thing the adapter cable is less durable. Why would it be?

      I’m replacing my 2 year old 6 with the 7. Should be a very zippy upgrade, 3D touch (which I love on my wife’s 6s), faster fingerprint. Personally, I can’t remember the last time I used headphones, so the different connector doesn’t bother at all.

        • Concupiscence
        • 3 years ago

        >> There’s no reason to thing the adapter cable is less durable. Why would it be?

        Apple’s had a bad run of luck with cable reliability since adopting Lightning. The Apple Tax notwithstanding, this is due to a combination of design decision’s Apple has made, and which they refuse to comprehensively address.

        #1: The use of thermoplastic elastomers is commendable from an environmental perspective, but they are less durable than the PVC and phthalates they’ve replaced.

        #2: Apple’s refusal to use strain relief for its cables for aesthetic concerns means – quelle surprise – the cables break at key points on a reliable basis.

        Form defeats function, the environmental benefit’s shifted from “these chemicals may cause cancer due to chronic exposure” to “these cables are broken, requiring more landfill space,” and the proprietary, fundamentally selfish solution they’ve devised for the headphone jack is a net negative for the tech market at large. I’m not giving them my money, and you should think long and hard before you do either.

          • JustAnEngineer
          • 3 years ago

          Instead of using PVC, which is cheap, safe and effective, Apple switched to an inferior cord insulation that was not suitable for the intended purpose, thereby turning millions of ear buds into waste to fill up the world’s landfills. Doh!

        • jts888
        • 3 years ago

        Lightning cables are becoming somewhat notorious for poor longevity, and as someone who’s already invested in custom molded in-ear monitors, I’m not likely to find a set of bundled earbuds a satisfactory alternative, so I would be stuck using that awful dongle.

        I don’t know why they didn’t make something like a solid inverted T adapter with the 3.5mm jack facing sideways. It would have been smaller, more durable, and a cheaper BOM.

        Also, does anyone know whether Lightning can pass analog signals, or do wired headphone/mic sets need DACs/ADCs now?

          • cygnus1
          • 3 years ago

          It can pass analog signals.

      • tipoo
      • 3 years ago

      It didn’t actually get thinner this time. They cited the removed space as important for the new taptic engine and other stuff. I’m curious if the left side speaker cutouts are actually another speaker, as they seem to still refer to the bottom as one speaker. If it’s a faked design I’m let down. . The earphone being a speaker is cool, but I’m still going to cover the bottom one 10000% of the time.

        • the
        • 3 years ago

        Apple probably enables/disables speakers based upon phone orientation.

        This makes me wonder if the phone will flip stereo channels if you hold it upside down.

          • tipoo
          • 3 years ago

          That’s if the second grill actually houses a speaker, making for three. If it does that I’m excited, but some rumors that were spot on for everything else said the second one just hid the mic and were for visual symmetry.

      • danazar
      • 3 years ago

      “I know I’m likely preaching to the choir for the most part here, but I am seriously disappointed by the 3.5mm removal for the (ostensible) pursuit of thinness here, especially given that the camera lens isn’t flush or recessed into the body anyway.”

      I don’t think it’s just the pursuit of thinness here. The headphone jack is another point of entry for water.

      Yes, there are phones that are rated as IP67 compliant that have headphone jacks. There are also write-ups of people killing those phones by dropping them in a bucket of water. I’m guessing Apple doesn’t want that to happen to them.

      • End User
      • 3 years ago

      Preaching to the choir? Not a chance. Good riddance I say. It is a useless port as far as I am concerned. I’ve moved on to wireless headphones.

        • Krogoth
        • 3 years ago

        Enjoy your limited battery life, inferior audio quality, frequent recharging and RF interference.

          • End User
          • 3 years ago

          I will. Just ordered a 7. 🙂

          BTW, I’ve been using BT headphones for a number of years and battery life is getting better (30 hrs with the PXC 550 ), audio quality is excellent and RF is not an issue.

            • Krogoth
            • 3 years ago

            Lithium batteries slowly lose their capacity over their lifespan and that unit has non-replaceable units. Just like the iPhone family. How fitting.

            • End User
            • 3 years ago

            iPhone batteries are replaceable. That being said I’ll sell the 7 to pickup an 8 so battery life is not an issue.

            I’ll have to followup on battery replacement for the headphones but, much like the phone, I don’t plan on keeping them long enough to have to deal with a dead battery.

      • Krogoth
      • 3 years ago

      It is Apple playing the “New Coke” card.

      Just watch as they introduced a new proprietary headphone jack for “iPhone 8” and reintroduced 3.5mm for the “Classic” model that carries a “premium”.

      Otherwise, the iPhone 7 would be just a minor update over the iPhone 6.

      • ronch
      • 3 years ago

      Didn’t know I am part of a choir.

    • Krogoth
    • 3 years ago

    Minor model update 2016…….

    I suspect the whole “3.5mm” removal is really a play from Cola-cola’s playbook with the “New Coke” debacle.

    Intentionally create controversy which itself creates free marketing. It is all a ploy to draw people back into the Apple camp from the encroaching competition. I wouldn’t be surprised if the “iPhone 8” reintroduces 3.5mm port as a “new feature”.

      • HisDivineOrder
      • 3 years ago

      Well, it worked for Microsoft and the Start Screen… then the Start Menu. Then Windows gaming.

      You really have to commit to the strategy, though.

      • the
      • 3 years ago

      There is some technical merit in removing the 3.5 mm jack (it is analog after all). However, they needed to have a clear transition plan but never pushed lightning connected audio devices prior to this event. That’s where the real issue is. The new wireless EarPods and Lightning enabled Beats head phones could have been launched earlier making the removal of the 3.5mm less of a sudden change.

      On that same note, I would have migrated Lightning to USB-C this year and then dropped the 3.5 mm next year with the arrival of the analog audio alt-mode.

        • cygnus1
        • 3 years ago

        Yeah, they’re going to switch to USB-C at some point, it’s just got so much more going for it than Lightning. I’m never going to buy Lightning plug based headphones of any kind. Anyone that invests any decent amount of money into Lightning based audio devices is a fool. If you plan to use any of it after the switch to USB-C, it just means more dongles to keep track of.

    • Unknown-Error
    • 3 years ago

    Jet Black iPhone 7 Plus! Ok, I am officially jealous.

    That is some great hardware. All Apple needs is an S-Pen equivalent and I might go Apple for the 1st time in my life.

    Seriously, how far can they keep pushing the performance? They’v also gone big.LITTLE. Impressive as much as I hate to admit it.

    • moog
    • 3 years ago

    What great hardware. The camera especially.

    Despite my last two iPhones dieing in 2 yrs, I’m tempted to buy yet another.

    • Blytz
    • 3 years ago

    The 7 (and it’s predecessor) have a 1334×750 resolution…

    Why not go standard 1280×720 in a marginally smaller screen (or same size) as a standard 720p resolution and make scaling from 1080p cleaner and entry level hd content native to the resolution

    Other than to make a market screen resolution no one else on the planet appears to use.

      • cygnus1
      • 3 years ago

      because of historical backward compatibility, evolution of iOS screen scaling, resolution independence, etc. They don’t really do things like other OS’s do.

      [url<]https://www.paintcodeapp.com/news/ultimate-guide-to-iphone-resolutions[/url<]

        • w76
        • 3 years ago

        Okay, but that doesn’t forgive a screen on a high-end phone that costs what an iPhone 7 does in 2016 not at least being able to play 1080p content without scaling. The screen in the 7Plus should be the bare absolute minimum resolution. I’m not some 4k loon, I think Android manufacturers are fighting a silly spec war with resolutions like that, but 1080p isn’t unreasonable.

        The Moto G4 is $99 at Amazon and has a 1080p screen, Apple is certainly capable of the same.

          • tipoo
          • 3 years ago

          It’s a big deal for VR too. My 6S looks like sitting in front of a 90s CRT in Cardboard. I was hoping the resolution would be upped just for that and Apple would make their own Daydream answer.

          • cygnus1
          • 3 years ago

          So, not sure exactly what you’re talking about. The iPhone 6 Plus uses hardware-accelerated decoding of iOS-friendly video formats, videos played using the stock Video app are rendered directly at the native screen resolution, skipping the scaling stage. So 1080p video plays at an unscaled 1080p on the 1080p screen of the iPhone 6 Plus. I’m sure the 7 Plus functions the same way. Also, for apps, such as games, that use OpenGL or Metal for rendering can opt out of the scaling stage and draw directly into a renderbuffer that has the native screen dimensions.

          Also, not sure where you found your price for the Moto G4. Amazon tells me it is $150 for an Amazon ad supported version or $199 for the non-ad supported unlocked version… Pretty cheap, but not quite as cheap as you think it is.

          [url<]https://www.amazon.com/Moto-4th-Generation-Exclusive-Lockscreen/dp/B01EZC9WC0[/url<] [url<]https://www.amazon.com/Moto-4th-Gen-Unlocked-Black/dp/B01DZJFSZ4[/url<]

        • Blytz
        • 3 years ago

        Which I read as double handling by upscaling and possible downscaling content. Or am I missing something ?

          • cygnus1
          • 3 years ago

          Yes, you’re missing something. None of the display flows on that page show both an upscaling and a downscaling. It’s either-or depending on the zoom mode the user selects and the resolution of the screen.

          Edit: Maybe you’re misunderstanding the Render at 1x, 2x, 3x references.

          [url<]http://stackoverflow.com/questions/32354453/why-do-i-need-1x-2x-and-3x-ios-images[/url<]

    • derFunkenstein
    • 3 years ago

    lol…the iOS 10 Gold Master Candidate is actually 10.0.1. That must mean they found some sort of show-stopping issue before the software actually got released.

      • the
      • 3 years ago

      It could also mean some new version number scheme where 10.0.0 were all considered the public beta. If 10.0.1 is the first non-beta, it is easier to do version checking.

        • derFunkenstein
        • 3 years ago

        Build numbers change where the version numbers don’t. For instance, just about any OS X “Security update” that isn’t rolled into a new version of the OS. Evertyhing is tied to a build number, like 14A403 in this case.

        You can also assign any build any version number you want. That’s true for Apple as much as it is for the developers (store listings can have different version numbers than the package’s version). There must be something significant here.

      • adisor19
      • 3 years ago

      Most likely they discovered a bug AFTER they had already started packaging the new iPhones 7 phones. Happens sometimes especially with new devices. Hopefully whatever they fixed is something with relatively small impact.

      Adi

    • albundy
    • 3 years ago

    Did they finally add an IR blaster, microSD or UFS slot and a removable battery?

      • chµck
      • 3 years ago

      you trying to be funny?

        • albundy
        • 3 years ago

        sadly yes. i would jump on board if they actually added features instead of removing them…like all of them. my harmony remote died the second i programmed my galaxy s5 to operate the tv, home theater equipment, htpc, lights, and HVAC.

      • Ryu Connor
      • 3 years ago

      They’ll add that about the time Android figures out updates and security.

        • adisor19
        • 3 years ago

        The burn was strong in this one.

        Adi

    • chµck
    • 3 years ago

    f/1.8 is too wide for general use.

      • tipoo
      • 3 years ago

      …That’s not a width?

        • chµck
        • 3 years ago

        aperature absolutely has to do with width

          • tipoo
          • 3 years ago

          And it didn’t change in isolation, the sensor size and lens configuration changed to match…I didn’t say it doesn’t have to do with it, I said it’s not width.

      • iBend
      • 3 years ago

      its normal…
      HTC 10, G5, V20 and other flagship also use f/1.8

      S7 and note7 even use f/1.7

      • danazar
      • 3 years ago

      Let me guess, you also believe that Han Solo made the Kessel Run in 12 parsecs.

      • Jeff Kampman
      • 3 years ago

      On a tiny sensor with a sub-5mm lens like this one, it’s perfectly fine. An f/number taken in isolation from the rest of the optical system it describes is practically meaningless.

    • derFunkenstein
    • 3 years ago

    I will say that the shiny, shiny jet black phone is pretty in renderings, but I just stick phones in cases anyway and 128GB for me is of dubious value.

      • sweatshopking
      • 3 years ago

      Apple has already warned the shiny black is a scratch and fingerprint magnet.

    • dyrdak
    • 3 years ago

    Holy smoke. 1000$ for a phone. One has to be a true believer.

    • End User
    • 3 years ago

    Anyone else gonna be up at 3AM EST on the 9th to pre-order?

      • derFunkenstein
      • 3 years ago

      No.

        • End User
        • 3 years ago

        🙁

          • derFunkenstein
          • 3 years ago

          Well, last year I ordered from Verizon the day pre-orders opened, and I still didn’t get my 6S Plus for a month after launch. Because of that delay (and the fact Verizon didn’t start charging me until I actually got the phone) the earliest I can upgrade with the trade-in program is October 13.

            • End User
            • 3 years ago

            I’m going to put on my Krogoth Pro Tip hat and say that one should only pre-order from Apple. It allows one to entirely avoid dealing with the providers and their lies.

            • derFunkenstein
            • 3 years ago

            Well, Apple checks with the carrier to see how eligible to upgrade you are. I guess I could pay off the 6S Plus and sell it for more than I owed, but given the bump in storage the base 6S Plus got, I’m guessing it would only be about the same after Swappa and Paypal get their cuts. I don’t have to have the very best on the day it comes out, either, so I can wait.

            Also, the difference between 32GB and 128GB works out to be $4.16/mo. I think I can live with that.

        • Redocbew
        • 3 years ago

        I say we start a petition for Bruno to max out the row and column holding upvotes for this post.

          • DrDominodog51
          • 3 years ago

          I second this proposal.

      • albundy
      • 3 years ago

      nope. i have nothing to do, which is far more important that this.

        • End User
        • 3 years ago

        lol

      • sweatshopking
      • 3 years ago

      GUESS FOR ME!! GO ON, EU! GUESS! IS SSK GOING TO WAIT TO BUY AN IPHONE!?

        • End User
        • 3 years ago

        You are upgrading from your 4s? Congrats.

          • ronch
          • 3 years ago

          He’s more of a Windows phone kind of person.

            • End User
            • 3 years ago

            Sigh. Everyone here knows that.

            • ronch
            • 3 years ago

            So why did you ask if he’s upgrading from his 4s? Oh wait, I geddit! It was a joke! Right??

            • End User
            • 3 years ago

            Nothing gets by you. Oh wait.

            • derFunkenstein
            • 3 years ago

            [url<]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSRildGCw64[/url<]

          • sweatshopking
          • 3 years ago

          My 1520 died, ordered a 950. Wife said she liked the 950, now I’m using her tiny icon, and she has the 950.

      • Krogoth
      • 3 years ago

      Only a few thousand die-hard Macoytles.

      Most people who are interested are going to wait until the coming weekend to pick-up their units via their local Apple or wireless provider outlet.

      • ronch
      • 3 years ago

      Since I live on the other side of this planet, yes, I’ll be up during that time but I won’t be anywhere near an Apple store.

      • chuckula
      • 3 years ago

      Lol. The downthumbs were undeserved.

      A few of us still appreciate dry wit, although putting it in all-caps would have been better.

        • sweatshopking
        • 3 years ago

        Wit? He will seriously be up ordering them

          • chuckula
          • 3 years ago

          Wait, what… you mean he was serious?

            • sweatshopking
            • 3 years ago

            Are you joking now?
            Of course he is serious.

            • End User
            • 3 years ago

            Thank you for clarifying.

            • End User
            • 3 years ago

            Serious about the ordering at 3AM? Of course.

            Serious about thinking that anyone else here at TR would be? Not a chance.

          • End User
          • 3 years ago

          lol

        • End User
        • 3 years ago

        And yes, the down votes are well deserved. 🙂

      • GrimDanfango
      • 3 years ago

      Out of interest, does the Raving Cult of Apple still really exist to any great degree? I still see endless derisive references all over the net these days from people about how crazy Apple fans are, but I get the feeling the actual fad has long-since passed, and it’s only a few die-hard fans that are still on that particular bandwagon.

      I mean, I finally gave up on Android last year, after using it since the beginning, because frankly, Google have just gotten too “Do be evil” for my liking, and the Play Store became so densely crammed with horrible tripe that I literally couldn’t trawl through it to find any decent games any more.
      So… I gave an iPhone 6s Plus a try, and so far I’ve been very happy with it… far from perfect, but fantastic build quality, and while the store isn’t perfect either, it’s a lot less of a mess.

      I certainly don’t consider it anything more than another brand to try out. I get the distinct feeling these days that the majority of people see it that way… a solid piece of kit you can happily keep for a few years, with a solid, dependable OS… rather than the must-have annual fashion accessory that must be queued for overnight so you can bag it on release day – as it used to be.

    • elmopuddy
    • 3 years ago

    In the article Jeff, you state:
    “Whether that’s worth making these phones incompatible with most every set of headphones currently in existence remains to be seen…”

    um, you get a free dongle exactly for this..

    How are they incompatible?

      • Pwnstar
      • 3 years ago

      Why would you want a dongle on your phone? That’s just silly.

        • derFunkenstein
        • 3 years ago

        The design of the dongle at least makes it look like an extension of the headphones and not some actual huge dongle. Still, I’m going to need at least two of those if I’m going to upgrade because I need one in my car for my late-90s Ford’s cassette deck.

      • Nictron
      • 3 years ago

      I felt the same with the “incompatible” statement.

      Should perhaps be stated as compatible but the dongle might be inconvenient. I do wonder if items such as the Payment Pebble will work with the dongle but then that is probably classified as competition to Apple Pay.

      I am worried that Apple are moving towards the monopolistic side to protect their ecosystem. That never ends well except for short term shareholder and management gains!

    • sweatshopking
    • 3 years ago

    I understand why, but you guys basically, really, only do a major write up of iphones. I feel like if we’re going to do mobile here, do mobile. if we’re not, not.

      • Bobs_Your_Uncle
      • 3 years ago

      If it’s any consolation, I’m sure that equal attention will be paid to the MS Surface Phone upon it’s announcement. And I have no doubt that, while presenting it’s own distinctively styled functionalities, the Surface Phone will be every bit as impressive as it’s i-centric counterpart(s).

      (This is, of course, speaking as a WinMobile user & advocate.) ; )

        • sweatshopking
        • 3 years ago

        That’s not really my issue. It is that the reporting and background isn’t there to do a good job at it. Reviewing one out of many products leaves the pieces as likely the weakest on the site.

      • w76
      • 3 years ago

      I agree, I come for the PC hardware, those performance-value scatter plots, frame time, etc. That said…

      iPhone launches are much more noteworthy for PC enthusiasts than any other brand due to the custom ARM cores Apple does such a great job on. Eventually they could cause Intel problems, either by displacing Intel in certain laptops (Macbook Air?) or by at least giving us a preview of what the rest of the ARM ecosystem will be able to do with performance fairly soon. Alternatively, who might need AMD at all if the ARM worlds progress continues?

      They’ll hit the same x86 wall the Surface RT did, but if my walled-garden app-store conspiracy theories are right with Windows, maybe if most consumers get rail-roaded in to the Microsoft app store then MS could make the transition away from x86 seamless.

      Anyway, thats why I always read iPhone launches and ignore all the other flagships. I’m a mid-range budget kinda guy, so these kids dropping 2x what I’d dream of on a phone all seems wacky to me. The top end 7Plus is close to my mortgage payment. And yet, recent Federal Reserve research showed most Americans wouldn’t be able to cover a $500 emergency expense (without credit cards).

    • tipoo
    • 3 years ago

    Notably, not just big.LITTLE. Many implementations of that sucked. A10 Fusion has a custom fabric, It has shared caches and a discrete controller block. Faster switching.

    [url<]https://twitter.com/PatrickMoorhead/status/773591957234851840[/url<]

      • the
      • 3 years ago

      I’m really curious how different the two core designs are. Obviously the little cores are power optimized but I wonder how performance optimized the big core really are. Power consumption is still a concern since it is a mobile part but the big cores conceptually could have lower performance/watt in exchange for greater overall performance compared to the A9 cores.

      The cache hierarchy will be very interesting. Is the shared cache L1 or L2? (L3 should be shared per previous designs).

      This also makes me wonder what Apple will do for the A10X in the next iPad.

        • tipoo
        • 3 years ago

        I wonder if they may have even taken their cores from the S1/S2 and used them as little cores here.

          • the
          • 3 years ago

          I’d imagine that the level of integration Apple claims for their big.LITTLE implementation requires some extensive modification on both types of cores. At the very least, the front end of these core is likely new.

            • tipoo
            • 3 years ago

            Probably. I also think the Watch ones were 32 bit in retrospect, so probably not. A new custom Apple core to dig into? Intriguing. Hope someone digs deep.

        • tipoo
        • 3 years ago

        Shared cache among the big and LITTLE cores surely would differentiate it from big.LITTLE, where big cores’ cluster has its own shared L2, and likewise with and LITTLE cluster, and coherency is provided by the CCI.

    • wingless
    • 3 years ago

    I’m sad that I’m so ‘Meh’ about such a superbly designed product. I’m sure the hardware will be the best in many regards, but the OS is so very bland. I’m sick of looking at my iPhone. I need some Android excitement in my life.

    iOS is like the missionary position of operating systems. It gets the job done every time but with the least excitement possible. It was fine the first few times but got boring quickly.

    This makes the iPhone 7 like a hot woman that just lays their like a sack of potatoes. Such a waste.

      • blastdoor
      • 3 years ago

      I think you’re doing the missionary position wrong…

        • kvndoom
        • 3 years ago

        Naw, I’ve been in that situation before. Some women really don’t meet the expectations set by their looks.

        And in the spirit of false advertising… [url<]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-1C6QlvHl8[/url<]

      • reever
      • 3 years ago

      What are you even talking about? Both Android and iOS haven’t fundamentally changed since their inception in terms of what consumers see. The concept of a GUI based OS is decades old, what are your revolutionary ideas to spruce up what isn’t expected to change, like, ever? Anything anyone tries (and by anyone I mean Microsoft only, and poorly) to fundamentally change the OS as consumers see and use it don’t go over well.

    • NTMBK
    • 3 years ago

    And the Apple bubble continues to slowly deflate.

      • the
      • 3 years ago

      If you want to see deflation, watch the despair those who have been waiting for upgraded Mac hardware. What used to be a yearly update cycle has been migrating to a 3 year cycle and even then with that wait, the newer products are not decisively superior to their predecessor.

        • sweatshopking
        • 3 years ago

        macs are a joke, currently. still selling, so why should apple care?

          • tipoo
          • 3 years ago

          Something more is clearly up this round. If they could go on momentum sup with all the past processor updates, some near silent? Sup with them shipping some of the best silicon in phones around?

          • End User
          • 3 years ago

          Macs are dead to me until Apple releases new models based on Kaby Lake. I think they have been waiting for the past 2+ years for this product cycle.

          New Macs by the holidays. Yay.

            • derFunkenstein
            • 3 years ago

            Before long Apple will dump macOS and just bring XCode to Linux

            • End User
            • 3 years ago

            LibreOffice for everybody!

        • NTMBK
        • 3 years ago

        The Mac Pro is still hobbling along on Ivy Bridge and Tahiti, isn’t it?

          • Chrispy_
          • 3 years ago

          Mobile Tahiti (MXM) SLI; Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww…

          …wwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww….

          …wwwwwwww!

        • albundy
        • 3 years ago

        well, technically, do they make the hardware or does intel, nvidia, foxconn, etc.? they are just putting a logo on a chassis.

    • blastdoor
    • 3 years ago

    I wonder — for the 10x digital zoom, is information from both cameras used? Or is it just 5x digital applied to the 2x optical from the telephoto?

    Also — do you really have to choose between lenses when taking a picture, or can you get both at the same time, and then make more choices at the editing stage?

    • TwistedKestrel
    • 3 years ago

    So is Apple sending analog audio over the Lightning port in some cases? Or is there a tiny (presumably poor) DAC in the adapter?

      • blastdoor
      • 3 years ago

      I bet it’s sending analog audio.

        • CthulhuBill
        • 3 years ago

        Not that the DAC in the phones that powered the headphone jack were any good either.

          • derFunkenstein
          • 3 years ago

          I was all set to correct you, because I thought they were using Wolfson parts, but apparently I was wrong. The 6S used a Cirrus Logic something or other, and I’m guessing this won’t stray far.

      • MathMan
      • 3 years ago

      There’s probably a DAC in the adapter. That’s how they did it with their VGA output: the dongle had a small ARM-based MP4 decoder in it.

      • TwistedKestrel
      • 3 years ago

      Speculatively answering my own question: the existing Lightning-to-30 pin adapter uses a Wolfson WM8533 DAC to provide analog audio. The WM8533 has a package size of 1.842 x 1.772 x 0.451mm … so I’m imagining this is probably embedded in the cable somewhere.

      • ronch
      • 3 years ago

      It’s sending… signals. Yeah, signals.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This